Yeast starter - White Labs yeast - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast starter - White Labs yeast

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2009, 03:52 PM   #1
KenDawg19
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Long Island
Posts: 62


I am using White Labs European Ale for a Winter Spice Ale. The target starting gravity is 1.067. Do I need to make a starter for a 5 gallon batch? White Labs says no as long as original gravity is less than 1.080. Opinions please!!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
Brew-boy
 
Brew-boy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2006
Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 2,282
Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts


Yes, I would highly recommend on Any beer you make.
__________________
Next:Smoked Pilsner.
Primary:Belgian Red, American Stout w/Roeselare
On Tap:Pale Ale, English Bitter
Aging: Imperial Oatmeal Stout on Vanilla beans.

I rather owe you a dollar than cheat you out of it.."Dad"

http://lapeerareabrewers.com/

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LapeerAreaBrewers/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 04:01 PM   #3
kappajoe
Recipes 
 
Jun 2009
Montana
Posts: 116

I would make a starter or use a few more vials...

check out this yeast pitch calculator.
http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
KenDawg19
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Long Island
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by kappajoe View Post
I would make a starter or use a few more vials...

check out this yeast pitch calculator.
http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html
Would a 2nd vial be enough without a starter? According to Mr. Malty, I would need 2.5 vials.

What do you think?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 04:36 PM   #5
ottobrew
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Pittsburgh
Posts: 121

+1 on making a starter for any beer, especially for OG of 1.067. I also second the Mr. Malty web page, lots good info.
__________________
Primary: Empty
Secondary: Geuze

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:42 PM   #6
kuphish
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
kuphish's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 197
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by KenDawg19 View Post
Would a 2nd vial be enough without a starter? According to Mr. Malty, I would need 2.5 vials.

What do you think?
I prefer to make a starter over using additional vials/smack packs. It's nice to get the yeast warmed up so fermentation takes off within a couple of hours. I'm sure using a second vial would be fine, but it'll cost you more and I think your fermentation will commence sooner with a starter.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:04 AM   #7
mummasan
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
O'ahu
Posts: 235

Make a starter. I used to pitch white labs vials right into my wort and I wondered why the beer never fermented completely. Now I always make a starter then pitch the yeast and haven't had a stuck fermentation since.
__________________
You should never hesitate to trade your cow for a handful of magic beans.
- from Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White Labs yeast TairyHesticles Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 04-03-2009 06:51 PM
Old White Labs Yeast emribecky Recipes/Ingredients 10 01-26-2009 11:19 AM
White Labs Liquid yeast and starter question.. Korben General Techniques 42 12-24-2008 01:44 PM
Need a starter for White Labs liquid yeast? Duckfoot Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 08-16-2008 03:00 AM
White Labs Yeast natehilde Recipes/Ingredients 2 01-04-2007 02:35 AM


Forum Jump