Electrical Primer for Brewers - Page 13 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electrical Primer for Brewers

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 02:03 AM   #121
mattd2
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,723
Liked 307 Times on 245 Posts


Hey CodeRage, thanks for putting all this great info on here. One question I have is I recall having heard about sizing wire that for continuos loads you should only plan to draw 80% (don't quote that, I think thats what I heard) of the current that the wire can handle for intermitent loads (again can't really remember what how long you have to leave something on for to be classed continuos load). So if a wire is good for 20 amps intermitent you should only run 16 amps continous.
your advice?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:15 AM   #122
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,222
Liked 46 Times on 20 Posts


The continuous load rule applies when the load is above 80% in excess of 4 (maybe it was 7?) hours at a time. It's usually applied to lighting circuits that are on for an entire business day. For our breweries it doesn't apply. It isn't a bad practice, but we don't need to strictly adhere to it.

EDIT - It's 3 hours, thanks BrewBeamer!
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:27 AM   #123
mattd2
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,723
Liked 307 Times on 245 Posts


Thanks (and thanks again since I need to type more than 10 characters)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 03:05 AM   #124
pickles
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Columbus
Posts: 2,007
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts


For a 240V heating element circuit, do I need to put a fuse on both hot legs. I have 3 elements and six SSR's (one for each leg). I am guessing I need to put a 25A fuse on each hot leg since I am using 4500W elements. I have another question. I know I have to protect the "hot" wires with fuses when I step down to a smaller gauge, but do I have to protect the neutral wire when I step it down in size? I enters the brew rig's panel as 6 ga wire with 50A supplied to it, I only need to use it for two 1/3 HP pumps and a 12V power supply.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:15 AM   #125
TriangleIL
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Chicago
Posts: 268
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.

I went out and purchased a 3 prong, 30A cable and outlets today to put into my future control box. On the package for the outlets, it says "Not for grounded use except with Dryers or Stoves per the NEC code". It also says the 3 wires should be hot, hot, neutral.

Question, can I just use the 3rd wire safely as ground since I have complete control over what wire is what in my cable? I am using this to connect my control panel to my BK element.

Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 02:40 AM   #126
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,852
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleIL View Post
Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.I went out and purchased a 3 prong, 30A cable and outlets today to put into my future control box.
That's sorta scarey.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 03:11 PM   #127
EarthBound
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 1,069
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


Excellent work, rage! Thanks for writing it up. I will be using it for years to come.

This really needs to be a sticky for one important reason: safety. Question, why isn't it a sticky?
__________________
"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 12:38 AM   #128
soGGy
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Boulder Co
Posts: 30

Great sticky! Thanks for the writeup, very helpful!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 07:35 AM   #129
BrewBeemer
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
small island paradise, the lost atoll
Posts: 3,505
Liked 25 Times on 25 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleIL View Post
Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.
No worries, if you can't find it it'll find you.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:49 AM   #130
big_al_in_k-zoo
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 203
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I've got a question. Are "time Delay" fuses the same as "Slow Blow" fuses? thanks

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DME as primer prrriiide Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 10-01-2009 10:15 PM
not enough primer? fightingswede Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 06-02-2009 02:39 PM
primer JDengler Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 02-22-2009 08:26 AM
how much dme for primer? Spot29er General Techniques 3 01-25-2009 03:08 AM
DME primer McCuckerson General Beer Discussion 7 12-01-2008 10:11 PM


Forum Jump