Auber PID SYL-2352 undocumented bug - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Auber PID SYL-2352 undocumented bug

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2009, 11:57 PM   #1
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,852
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts



At least I assume it is undocumented.

For anyone who is using the PID in manual mode, the lowest cycle time (the "t" variable) is 2, not 0.5 seconds as described in their current datasheet.

Anything lower than 2 will cause problems. I can verify this, and it was verified by someone there at Auber. I know that others have lowered their Proportional variable to 0 or 1, and that corrected the problem for them but this did nothing for me and really screwed up the thing when I went back to auto mode!

The Auber guy even said that if you set it to "1" (second), it might give you 100 seconds. Weird, but I am sure I saw this. I have been looking at the Out signals on a scope.

BTW, I love this thing, and 2 second cycle is no problem at all.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 12:59 AM   #2

I use 2 seconds. Works like a charm...
__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:39 AM   #3
3 Dog Brew
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
3 Dog Brew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Houston, TX
Posts: 292
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


I have never ventured from Auto mode! Now, I'm going to have to look. Thanks passedpawn, now I have more work to do. :-(
__________________
3 Dog Brewery - "Sit, Stay. Good Beer!"
www.3dogbrew.com
3 Dog Blog 3DogBrew/Blogspot.com
Follow 3 Dog Brewery on Facebook

I am a Homebrewer on YouTube --- Motorized Mill Station

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 03:30 AM   #4
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,852
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


You don't want to use manual mode unless you want to ignore your temperature sensing device. Manual mode allows you to select a "power level", sort of like a microwave, where the output cycles on and off.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 04:05 AM   #5
remilard
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Kansas City
Posts: 3,654
Liked 43 Times on 41 Posts


Undocumented feature.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:13 PM   #6

Manual mode is for maintaining a steady boil...
__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:16 PM   #7
3 Dog Brew
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
3 Dog Brew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Houston, TX
Posts: 292
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
You don't want to use manual mode unless you want to ignore your temperature sensing device. Manual mode allows you to select a "power level", sort of like a microwave, where the output cycles on and off.
I did that on accident by originally putting a valve in between the heating element and the sensor. Bad mojo! The element got hot enough to melt silver solder holding the copper together.

Needless to say, that particular design "feature" was reconsidered. The heating element was replaced and the temperature sensor was relocated to a more [PUN] sensable [/PUN] location.
__________________
3 Dog Brewery - "Sit, Stay. Good Beer!"
www.3dogbrew.com
3 Dog Blog 3DogBrew/Blogspot.com
Follow 3 Dog Brewery on Facebook

I am a Homebrewer on YouTube --- Motorized Mill Station

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:37 PM   #8
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,852
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Poobah58 View Post
Manual mode is for maintaining a steady boil...
yep... I should have mentioned that.

I am using auto for the HLT, manual for boil. I am also trying to do this with one PID. Not to save money, but because I can't drive more than one heating element at a time anyway, so it seemed unnecessary to use 2 PIDs.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:18 PM   #9
drost
Recipes 
 
Apr 2006
Ankeny, IA
Posts: 171

passedpawn, try this.

Set your Proportional Constant to 1 (it's initial setting is 500). You should then be able to set the 't' (Cycle rate) to 1. Maybe you've already tried this, but it worked for me.

drost
__________________
"It isn't a matter of being a beer snob. Some people think a steak from Ponderosa is a great dinner out (Budweiser). Others would rather have a filet at one of the better steakhouses (craft beer). " --Pronger750

Reason: additional info.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 07:04 PM   #10
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 25,852
Liked 6694 Times on 3957 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by drost View Post
passedpawn, try this.

Set your Proportional Constant to 1 (it's initial setting is 500). You should then be able to set the 't' (Cycle rate) to 1. Maybe you've already tried this, but it worked for me.

drost
yea, that worked, but that made the auto mode totally useless. If I had 2 PIDs and could leave one on manual, I'd change the P as you describe.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auber instraments?? kickflip_mj Equipment/Sanitation 3 03-31-2010 06:14 PM
Auber wiring and programing squidtpd Equipment/Sanitation 0 10-20-2009 07:56 AM
Wiring Auber PIDs for Brutus Build gruversm Brew Stands 25 06-30-2009 11:09 PM
How to attach Auber RTD sensor in my Blichmann pots? kal Equipment/Sanitation 69 02-14-2009 09:48 PM
PROPS to AUBER INST. The Pol Equipment/Sanitation 4 12-19-2008 01:31 AM


Forum Jump