Help with Brew Kettle - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Help with Brew Kettle

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2009, 02:13 PM   #1
underwaterdan
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Long Island, NY
Posts: 325
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



Okay, so I do mainly extract and I need to get a new brew pot as I was just using one of our lobster pots. Another catch is I have a 50 dollar gift cert. to midwest brewing. I am looking for a pot for my extract brews but if I can do more with it that is okay too. Can someone help me pick one, there are a lot of choices, not sure if I can go with the 40 dollar one or need the 75 dollar one.
Cheers

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 02:32 PM   #2
Munsoned
 
Munsoned's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
DC Metro
Posts: 642
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


The biggest consideration for me is the size of the kettle. I'd go with something that would let you do full 5 gallon boils, minimum. I don't think most lobster pots can do that, but I'm not 100% sure based on your post.

If you can do 5 gallons, you can always do less. However, if you can't do 5, you'll end up paying more when/if you decide to bump up to full boils. Also, reselling something that can do 5 gallons will be easier than reselling something that can't.

I got my 10 gallon SS boil kettle from Austin Home Brew Supply. It was their economy model, and I've been very happy with it (except now I wish I had bumped it up to do full 10 gallon boils). Alas, that is the nature of life I suppose...
__________________
___________________________
“While the rest of the species is descended from apes, redheads are descended from cats.” - Mark Twain

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 02:42 PM   #3
underwaterdan
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Long Island, NY
Posts: 325
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Thanks for the detailed responce. This holds 5 gallons, so I assume I will need the next model up to do a full boil? I forgot to add that I do this on my gas stove in my kitchen.

Reason: added URL

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 04:05 PM   #4
springer
 
springer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Wappingers falls NY
Posts: 4,743
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by underwaterdan View Post
Thanks for the detailed responce. This holds 5 gallons, so I assume I will need the next model up to do a full boil? I forgot to add that I do this on my gas stove in my kitchen.
remember you can always do smaller boils in a big pot not the other way around . get the bigger one
__________________
'The taxpayer: That's someone who works for the federal government but doesn't have to take the civil service examination.'- Ronald Reagan

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 05:25 PM   #5
Munsoned
 
Munsoned's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
DC Metro
Posts: 642
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Doing 5 gallon boils (6 or 7 if you consider evaporation) on your kitchen stove may or may not be an easy feat. Since the stove is gas, you may have a better shot at it than I do on my electric. Is the space above the stove big enough to hold the pot? Is it strong enough to hold the pot? Due to my kitchen's limitations, I've done every batch on a propane turkey fryer on my back porch, so I'm not the best qualified to answer the question. So, I guess I would modify my answer to say that a bigger pot is better, until you run out of space or outstrip your heating source...
__________________
___________________________
“While the rest of the species is descended from apes, redheads are descended from cats.” - Mark Twain

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 05:27 PM   #6
shortyjacobs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,509
Liked 34 Times on 34 Posts


You need at least a 7.5 gallon pot in my opinion for full boils.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:37 PM   #7
underwaterdan
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Long Island, NY
Posts: 325
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


But for extract brews I can use a 5 or even 4 gallon pot without a problem right?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:44 PM   #8
shortyjacobs
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,509
Liked 34 Times on 34 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by underwaterdan View Post
But for extract brews I can use a 5 or even 4 gallon pot without a problem right?
You bet. Bigger is better, of course, (giggle), but you could do a 4 gallon boil in a 5 gallon pot and add top up water, or a 3 gallon boil in a 4 gallon pot and do the same.

Note that FermCap-S will help you boil more liquid in a given pot, since it stops the wort from foaming up and boiling over on you.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:21 PM   #9
Brew-boy
 
Brew-boy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2006
Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 2,282
Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts


Buy the right pot for the job. I have a odd 9.5 gallon to do my 5 gallons batches in. I think this is one area not to skimp on. I think you want it to hold at least 7.5 gallons
__________________
Next:Smoked Pilsner.
Primary:Belgian Red, American Stout w/Roeselare
On Tap:Pale Ale, English Bitter
Aging: Imperial Oatmeal Stout on Vanilla beans.

I rather owe you a dollar than cheat you out of it.."Dad"

http://lapeerareabrewers.com/

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LapeerAreaBrewers/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:31 PM   #10
underwaterdan
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Long Island, NY
Posts: 325
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I wonder if this 7.5 one is too cheap and it will cause my sugars to burn. I havent seen any reviews on it. It would cost me over a 100 bucks to get this, since shipping is so pricey.
Or is this one compairable? I really like austin home brew better... But I do have the gift cert and all

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to AG- Brew kettle ?? Pete08 Equipment/Sanitation 11 09-23-2008 10:59 PM
New brew kettle? Lucky Dog Brewing Equipment/Sanitation 1 02-25-2008 07:46 PM
Brew kettle marcuri General Techniques 4 11-13-2007 02:57 AM
Brew Kettle thebull Equipment/Sanitation 6 04-01-2007 10:33 AM
Using New Brew Kettle Krazy Bazturd Equipment/Sanitation 1 01-19-2007 06:50 AM


Forum Jump