Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Make 24 quart stock pot into mash tun

Old 10-26-2009, 11:31 PM   #1
big_muddy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Make 24 quart stock pot into mash tun

I'm new to home brewing. I got into it as something to do when it is too cold to backpack.

I purchased a 24 quart and 35 quart stainless steal stockpot set to get into brewing. I use the 35 quart kettle for full volume boils, and it has worked well for my two extract brews.

I like the idea of steep mashing, and would like to try that, my question is could I convert a 24 quart kettle over to a mash tun? It seems like it would work, given that people mash in five gallon coolers, and 24 quarts equals six gallons (math skills means I haven't had enough IPA yet).

Also, if I were to step mash on my stove in the kettle, should I use a false bottom that connects to the ball valve via a high temp tube.

Thanks for your help and feedback

Big Muddy

Old 10-27-2009, 01:13 AM   #2
shortyjacobs
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 3

No reason why it won't work. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/how-...-needs-123585/ . Note you can only hit a 1.059 OG brew with a 5 gallon....of course you are at 6, so I guess you can hit around 1.071? (if my math scales)

I'd figure out some way to insulate your new mash tun....some high temp insulation, or low temp insulation that you can easily remove, would help you not lose temps so much, but you might not care so much if you are doing step mashes.

Out of curiosity, why so serious about step mashing? With 95% of the grain you can buy, you only really need a single infusion at a single temperature...(no need for the complicated rest schedule that less modified malts call for...)...

Old 10-27-2009, 01:06 PM   #3
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 10 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 858 Times on 683 Posts
Likes Given: 15