Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Simple Brutus Clone Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2009, 07:12 PM   #1
SugarJohnson
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 150
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Simple Brutus Clone Question

My stand is built and primed. I have all the gas, valves and burners plumbed. Moving on to the contorl box. Very typical set up including two love, two pumps and two stc valves. What gauge wire did you guys run in the control box. Using 3 barrier strips as the original design does. I have a crap load of 14g stranded at home I was planning to use?

Just double checking!

Thanks



SugarJohnson is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Irrenarzt
HNIC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Irrenarzt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Half a mile from Tucson
Posts: 1,920
Liked 163 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 92

Default

14 is probably overkill but will work fine. I used 18 ga hook up wire. Works fine...


Irrenarzt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:21 PM   #3
Lonnie Mac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bacliff, TX
Posts: 326
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jf3233 View Post
My stand is built and primed. I have all the gas, valves and burners plumbed. Moving on to the contorl box. Very typical set up including two love, two pumps and two stc valves. What gauge wire did you guys run in the control box. Using 3 barrier strips as the original design does. I have a crap load of 14g stranded at home I was planning to use?

Just double checking!

Thanks
14 ga should be fine. That is what the pumps are anyway! I used 12 just because I had a bunch of it... I would not go lower than the components are wired themselves.
__________________
Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!
Lonnie Mac is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:07 PM   #4
Irrenarzt
HNIC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Irrenarzt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Half a mile from Tucson
Posts: 1,920
Liked 163 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 92

Default

My pumps come wired as 18 gauge from the factory and are also March 809's. I got the ones without the 3 foot cord and base as I was looking to do a better clamping arrangement as I didn't want the extra base plate hanging over the frame so to say. But like Lonnie said, don't go less than the components themselves...

Irrenarzt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:28 PM   #5
Boerderij_Kabouter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 8,467
Liked 133 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

If you are on a 20 amp circuit, you can use 12ga or smaller. On a 15 amp circuit, use 14ga or smaller. You do not want to use a larger gauge wire downstream of a smaller gauge wire (hope that makes sense).

I would just use the 14 ga and be done with it.
Boerderij_Kabouter is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:31 PM   #6
SugarJohnson
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 150
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks everyone, 14g it is.


SugarJohnson is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Stone IPA Clone seastrike India Pale Ale 6 04-17-2011 09:45 PM
Review My Brutus Clone Mirilis Equipment/Sanitation 18 07-10-2010 07:34 PM
Thinking of building a Brutus 10 clone digdan Brew Stands 8 04-10-2009 04:24 PM
Simple Blue Moon clone question... BoogDaddy Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 08-25-2008 10:24 PM
Brutus 10 Question harley03 Equipment/Sanitation 2 11-27-2007 03:35 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS