Simple Brutus Clone Question - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Simple Brutus Clone Question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2009, 07:12 PM   #1
SugarJohnson
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 149
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



My stand is built and primed. I have all the gas, valves and burners plumbed. Moving on to the contorl box. Very typical set up including two love, two pumps and two stc valves. What gauge wire did you guys run in the control box. Using 3 barrier strips as the original design does. I have a crap load of 14g stranded at home I was planning to use?

Just double checking!

Thanks


 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Irrenarzt
HNIC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Irrenarzt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Half a mile from Tucson
Posts: 2,106
Liked 167 Times on 119 Posts


14 is probably overkill but will work fine. I used 18 ga hook up wire. Works fine...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:21 PM   #3
Lonnie Mac
Recipes 
 
Nov 2006
Bacliff, TX
Posts: 304
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jf3233 View Post
My stand is built and primed. I have all the gas, valves and burners plumbed. Moving on to the contorl box. Very typical set up including two love, two pumps and two stc valves. What gauge wire did you guys run in the control box. Using 3 barrier strips as the original design does. I have a crap load of 14g stranded at home I was planning to use?

Just double checking!

Thanks
14 ga should be fine. That is what the pumps are anyway! I used 12 just because I had a bunch of it... I would not go lower than the components are wired themselves.
__________________
Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:07 PM   #4
Irrenarzt
HNIC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Irrenarzt's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Half a mile from Tucson
Posts: 2,106
Liked 167 Times on 119 Posts


My pumps come wired as 18 gauge from the factory and are also March 809's. I got the ones without the 3 foot cord and base as I was looking to do a better clamping arrangement as I didn't want the extra base plate hanging over the frame so to say. But like Lonnie said, don't go less than the components themselves...


 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:28 PM   #5
Boerderij_Kabouter
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,750
Liked 147 Times on 119 Posts


If you are on a 20 amp circuit, you can use 12ga or smaller. On a 15 amp circuit, use 14ga or smaller. You do not want to use a larger gauge wire downstream of a smaller gauge wire (hope that makes sense).

I would just use the 14 ga and be done with it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:31 PM   #6
SugarJohnson
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 149
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Thanks everyone, 14g it is.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American IPA Simple Stone IPA Clone seastrike Homebrew Ale Recipes 6 04-17-2011 09:45 PM
Review My Brutus Clone Mirilis Equipment/Sanitation 18 07-10-2010 07:34 PM
Thinking of building a Brutus 10 clone digdan Brew Stands 8 04-10-2009 04:24 PM
Simple Blue Moon clone question... BoogDaddy Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 08-25-2008 10:24 PM
Brutus 10 Question harley03 Equipment/Sanitation 2 11-27-2007 03:35 AM


Forum Jump