Breaker sizing for keezer? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Breaker sizing for keezer?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2009, 06:54 PM   #1
masonsjax
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
masonsjax's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Frederick, MD
Posts: 3,151
Liked 615 Times on 430 Posts



I plan to run a dedicated circuit/outlet from my breaker box to power my small keezer (~5cu ft). I currently (pun) have it sitting in the middle of the room, because the compressor didn't seem to like the 16ga extension cord I was using. I'll be running 12ga wire for the new outlet, but I'm not sure what size breaker I need. Any electricians out there that can help? Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:09 PM   #2
lazybean
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
San Diego
Posts: 177
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


With #12 wire you can install a 20 amp CB and 20 amp receptacle. Just looked at the GE 5.0cft specs and you can use a 15amp CB and 15receptacle with the #12 wire, if that is easier cheaper for you.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:12 PM   #3
nickpgoodman
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


A keezer really doesn't require all that much power for a dedicated circuit.

I have a 14.8 cu ft freezer, and with the compressor running it uses about 200 watts.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Posts: 51,513
Liked 3519 Times on 3330 Posts


Your freezer will tell you it's Current draw. That will tell you but yeah, mine is just on an outlet downstairs with one circuit running it, a mini fridge, and lighting.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:33 PM   #5
chuggs
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Jupiter, FL
Posts: 323
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts


The keezer has nothing to do with the breaker size...it's the wire that he's running between the main panel and the sub panel that's important.

If you run the 12-2 w ground...use a 20 amp breaker

If you run 14-2 w ground...use a 15 amp breaker

Most homes use 12-2 now. My old junker has a bunch of 15 amp circuits in it... I think they invented 15 amp circuits way back before computers and entertainment centers. Heck...I wonder if they even used electric vacuum cleaners... uggg.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:11 PM   #6
schristian619
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
San Diego, CA
Posts: 574
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I owuld run the 12-2 w/ ground with a 20 amp breaker. I agree that there is no need for a dedicated circuit for the keezer, but it may be easier to install that way. Although, you may want to install a couple more outlets on the same circuit for future use, since your already tapping into the panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:36 PM   #7
lazybean
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
San Diego
Posts: 177
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


As long as you have more then one recptacle on the circuit you can install 15 amp receptacles on a 12awg 20 amp circuit.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 10:28 PM   #8
masonsjax
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
masonsjax's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Frederick, MD
Posts: 3,151
Liked 615 Times on 430 Posts


Thanks for all the replies. I'll go with 20A all around.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50A GFCI after a 30A breaker? passedpawn Brew Stands 20 11-09-2009 09:47 PM
Multiple Fridges / 1 breaker....? IrregularPulse Equipment/Sanitation 23 06-08-2009 12:41 PM
Reconditioned circuit breaker egurney Brew Stands 9 01-27-2009 09:48 PM
Largest 110V Breaker? Cpt_Kirks Equipment/Sanitation 16 01-10-2009 05:31 PM
It's a deal breaker. gplutt Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling 4 12-25-2008 04:19 AM


Forum Jump