Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Rekegging store bought keg

Old 10-08-2009, 02:11 PM   #1
Soc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Default Rekegging store bought keg

Last weekend for my birthday, my family surprised me with a party and a keg of Miller Lite (I know, most of you might think it is nasty, but it's the family light beer of choice). We did a pretty good job on the keg but there is still about 1/3 of it remaining. My girlfriend paid for the keg and is now a little low on cash and wants to return the shell for the $50 deposit. We don't want to waste the beer left in the keg so I was thinking about emptying it into one of my empty corny kegs and putting some CO2 on it. Has anyone ever tried this? If this is a terrible idea please just let me know, I have never tried anything like this before, was just thinking that maybe it would work.

Old 10-08-2009, 02:26 PM   #2
johnnyc
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

How did you dispense the Miller? With a party pump or hooked up to CO2? If you pumped it with a party pump it was sucking air into the keg the entire time. If thats what you did the beer is probably done for. If on CO2 I guess you can transfer it but I'm not sure how you would do it, probably have to pull the pickup and use a siphon.

Fermenting: Yooper's Oktoberfest

Old 10-08-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3028 Times on 2934 Posts
Likes Given: 149

you could hook the hap to you beer in post on a corny, but like johnny said, only if it was a co2 tap. A hand pump tap and the beer is done, just return it and let the distributor clean it out.
If transferring to a corny, I would vent the pressure a few times, then push it over a 2-3 psi. It really depends on the tap that is/was hooked up to it.

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo's mom

Old 10-08-2009, 02:35 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png