Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Help selecting hops

Old 10-05-2009, 11:26 PM   #1
Stoopidwon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Help selecting hops

I'm trying my hand a brewing a very light in color ale. Probably a pale ale, or a blonde. Have found a Yakima blond recipe that looks great, I'm a nOOb and unfortunatly hav'nt tried differant hops. Would i be wise to just follow the recipe or could I replace the Yakima hops with something else. I'm sure I should be answering some questions in advance but again hops are foreign to me right now....please advice would be appreciated...

Mad One Legged Hopps Brewing
ON DECK:Shae-dy-day Brown, Outmeal Stout

PRIMARY:

SECONDARY 1:

SECONDARY 2:

BOTTLED: Irish Red, Copper Ale (2), Hanks Hefeweizen (2), Yakima Blonde, Oatmeal Stout

Old 10-06-2009, 12:21 AM   #2
Julohan
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

On the wiki, it says a good substitute is chinook. When you are changing to different hops it will give you different aromas, and taste. So, if you want to change the hops, may have a different tasting beer than the recipe you are following.

Old 10-06-2009, 03:20 PM   #3
Stoopidwon
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks julohan

PRIMARY:

SECONDARY 1:

SECONDARY 2:

BOTTLED: Irish Red, Copper Ale (2), Hanks Hefeweizen (2), Yakima Blonde, Oatmeal Stout

Old 10-06-2009, 03:36 PM   #4
FishinDave07
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Stoopidwon: you are probably talking about my Yakima Blonde. You can change the hops, but be sure you keep the same ibus if you want to replicate it the way i made it. Otherwise you could adjust it to your preferences (i.e. more hoppy, more malty)

Julohan: That is VERY strange that Chinook would replace Yakima Goldings. As far as i know Chinook is very intense bitterness with piney/citrusy notes. Yakima goldings are English golding hops, cultivated in Washington.