Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Another Possible Infection Question? (pics)

Old 10-05-2009, 02:24 PM   #1
dblalock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Another Possible Infection Question? (pics)

Hello,
This is my fourth batch to brew and I just haven't seen this before. It just doesn't seem like white belongs in beer?

On Saturday I started brewing this Dunkelweiss. By Saturday morning fermentation was raging. I had to switch from an airlock to blowoff, which is still on there. Now that it has calmed down a bit I am starting to notice this white color around the top of the carboy. These pictures kind o show it..

Thanks

http://i865.photobucket.com/albums/a...k/P1011109.jpg

Old 10-05-2009, 02:29 PM   #2
beretta
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Probably just yeast blobs...

Old 10-05-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
phrogpilot73
Loving the hobby
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Looks like a ginormous krauzen that has fallen to me... For what it's worth, my Best Bitter looks the same way (this is the same batch that looked the same). Tastes fine.

Old 10-05-2009, 02:33 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2869 Times on 1696 Posts
Likes Given: 3510

That's just the remnants of krauzen drying on the inside of your carboy...Remember you had a blow off...the krausen (with hop gunk) rode all the way out the top of your carboy...and when the krausen began to fall it just leaves a mess behind on the glass...Perfectly normal....

Relax!

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

Old 10-05-2009, 02:35 PM   #5
dblalock