Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewhouse kit Mexican cervesca -Adding a lime flavour

Old 09-29-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
beiner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brewhouse kit Mexican cervesca -Adding a lime flavour

Hey all,

Im new to brewing and have been using the Brewhouse kits thus far with great sucess. I am at the point in which I would like to start putting my own watermark on the kits and the idea I had was to add a like flavour to the mexican cervesca kit.

Now Im using only a primary fermenter. It is 48 litres and seems to do an awesome job. My fermenting period seems a little shorter aswell ( about 7-10 days on average)

I've done a fair bit of reading and think that adding a home made lime extract either to the primary right before bottling or to each individual bottle is probably the most efficent way to add a subtle taste of lime to my beer.

My question is:

How can I calculate how much sugar my extract will be adding. I do not what beer champagne when I open my beer on drinking day.

And if anyone else has any useful hints or tips that would be fantastic.

Old 09-29-2009, 04:16 PM   #2
FishinDave07
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I would be VERY cautious as i think lime can be easily over done in the finished product. I'm sure most people will tell you to drink your beer and have a lime wedge with it! but if lime in beer is what you want, then i recommend adding the lime extract (sugarless would be best) at bottling to taste.

Drinking: Yakima Blonde (Imperialized), Banana Wheat, Russian Imperial Stout, and anything i can get my hands on
On Deck: Watermelon Wheat, Red Panda Ale, Gluten Free Brown Ale, Mojito IPA, Smoked Pepper Stout

Old 09-29-2009, 04:39 PM   #3
beiner
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by FishinDave07 View Post
then i recommend adding the lime extract (sugarless would be best) at bottling to taste.
will this produce enough carbonation?

Aswell thank you for the advice