bending freon lines back in mini fridge tips and tricks - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > bending freon lines back in mini fridge tips and tricks

Old 09-28-2009, 10:48 PM   #1
ekjohns
Recipes 

May 2009
IL
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts

So being a poor grad student i will be buying a mini fridge for a kegerator conversion of craigslist for a good price but with one big problem! i cant be picky on size. I will for sure get something that can handle 2 cornys and a 5lb tank but cant drop the extra money for a sanyo. So it seems i can find a good size but will have to bend the freon tray at the top to the back of the fridge. Does anyone have any experience with this including tips and tricks to not pinch the line and ruin a fridge? This is what i got so far:

1. Let fridge full thaw and get it to room temp before you attempt anything
2. go SLOW!!

any others?

Old 12-28-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
CountThrashu1a
Recipes 

Aug 2011
Jewett City, CT
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekjohns View Post
So being a poor grad student i will be buying a mini fridge for a kegerator conversion of craigslist for a good price but with one big problem! i cant be picky on size. I will for sure get something that can handle 2 cornys and a 5lb tank but cant drop the extra money for a sanyo. So it seems i can find a good size but will have to bend the freon tray at the top to the back of the fridge. Does anyone have any experience with this including tips and tricks to not pinch the line and ruin a fridge? This is what i got so far:

1. Let fridge full thaw and get it to room temp before you attempt anything
2. go SLOW!!

any others?
I am looking to do the same thing soon.
Do you have any tips for me, did you end up bending the lines?
Thank you,
Matt

Old 12-28-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
kellanv
Recipes 

Feb 2011
Austin, Texas
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts