Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Ranco To SSR
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2009, 05:58 AM   #1
cheese
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 138
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Ranco To SSR

Hi Guys,

Do you know if and how I can connect a ranco temperature controller to a SSR?
The problem is that the ranco output is 110-220V and the SSR input signal should be low DC voltage.


cheese is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:50 PM   #2
drez77
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Palmer MA
Posts: 385
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

You should be able to get a SSR that has an input high enough to work. I have one that has a 92-240 AC input.


drez77 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:59 PM   #3
freddyb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 214
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Yes, AC controlled SSR will work. Or use a wall wart plugged into your ranco output and connect the DC output of the wall wart to the input of a DC controlled SSR. Not very elegant but it will work.

I assume you're asking because you want use the ranco to control something outside of its output rating and you already have a ranco and don't want to buy another more suitable controller.
freddyb is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:50 PM   #4
cheese
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 138
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freddyb View Post
Yes, AC controlled SSR will work. Or use a wall wart plugged into your ranco output and connect the DC output of the wall wart to the input of a DC controlled SSR. Not very elegant but it will work.
That solution crossed my mind but I wasn't sure if the wall wart could handle the switching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by freddyb View Post
I assume you're asking because you want use the ranco to control something outside of its output rating and you already have a ranco and don't want to buy another more suitable controller.

You're absolutely right,
I want to control an electric heating element of 2200W, 220V. so it should take 10A and the Ranco is rated for just 8A.
cheese is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 02:42 PM   #5
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheese View Post
That solution crossed my mind but I wasn't sure if the wall wart could handle the switching.




You're absolutely right,
I want to control an electric heating element of 2200W, 220V. so it should take 10A and the Ranco is rated for just 8A.
The wallwart will work just fine. You don't need very much current to switch a SSR. Here is a thread where the user ordered the wrong type of PID. He bought one that had relay contacts instead of a dc output for a SSR. I recommended a wallwart and it worked like a charm: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/dang...75/index3.html
__________________
Guy
Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 03:21 PM   #6
drez77
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Palmer MA
Posts: 385
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

never even thought of the wall wort. That is a good idea.


drez77 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a Ranco Ranco ETC-111000 McKBrew Brew Stands 1 02-18-2009 07:09 PM
PID vs. Ranco RockfordWhite Equipment/Sanitation 4 09-19-2008 03:14 AM
how much $ for a ranco. tbulger Equipment/Sanitation 7 02-04-2008 06:18 PM
ranco help...please don't get mad nduetime Equipment/Sanitation 14 12-08-2007 08:44 PM
Ranco: how much and where to get 'em Ivan Lendl Equipment/Sanitation 5 06-09-2006 05:15 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS