Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Brewing a Green Tea Ale

Old 09-09-2009, 06:23 PM   #1
cassj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brewing a Green Tea Ale

Hey everyone,

My very first post! I have been reading the forums for a few months now and I am finally stumped. Forgive my ignorance, I only started brewing 8 months ago.

As the title says, I am thinking of brewing a Green Tea beer. I did some research but came up surprisingly short. The resources I found suggest that an American Pale Ale would be the best to work with a green tea flavor. From a smattering of different recipes here is something that I came up with. Please tear it apart, I won't take it personally

Ingredients:
8 lb. US 2 Row
1 lb. Munich 10L
.5 lb. Crystal 20L
.5 oz Amarillo (90 min)
1 oz Cascade(.5 oz at 10 min, .5 oz at 5 min)
Wyeast #1056 American Ale Yeast

After the primary has calmed down I was going to make a very strong batch of Green Tea, about a gallon, and put it in my secondary. I am going to boil the tea after I steep the leaves to prevent infection.

Hopefully this will impart the flavor that I am going for and I can't help but doubt myself.

Does anyone have experience/tips in brewing a similar beer?
Should I change my recipe at all?
Did I miss any fundamental aspects to brewing an herbal beer?
Would the tea be better if I added it during another step?(Pre-boil)

Thank you!

Old 09-09-2009, 06:33 PM   #2
Natron008
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Sounds very interesting. I'm anxious to hear how it turns out.

Old 09-09-2009, 07:44 PM   #3
alcibiades
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts

adding a gallon to secondary might affect your gravity too much, and give you a much weaker beer.

Why not steep the tea like you would steeping grains pre-boil? I once steeped ginseng roots with my steeping grains with good results.

Old 09-09-2009, 07:52 PM   #4
cheschire
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts