Ranco Single Stage Won't Power Up - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Ranco Single Stage Won't Power Up

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
MrShake
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Posts: 1,262
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts



I know this is a long shot, but....

I had a Ranco running my Keezer, worked perfectly. When we had some water in our basement, we unpluged it to move it out, and since have replaced the keezer with a craigslist keg cooler and taps. The old keezer is now out in the garage, hasn't been plugged in yet.

I brewed last night and went to put the fermenter in the keezer to control ferm temps and the Ranco now won't power on at all. Nothing on the display, keezer never powers on.

I disassembled and re-wired the ranco last night in an attempt to fix it, but it still never powers up. Anyone have any thoughts? Anyone have a spare ranco they want to give me a good price on?
__________________
MrShake - Top Hat Brewery and Tapworks
Owner of BrewTroller

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 05:36 PM   #2
McKBrew
 
McKBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Hayden, Idaho
Posts: 8,204
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts


One think to check if you didn't already is the lockout switch inside the unit. Mine got jarred out of postion once. In this situation it still powered up though, but you could check it anyhow.

Go through and re-verify your wiring again and also make sure that there is actually power in the garage (no tripped breakers, GFCI, etc...)

I know, mostly common sense but sometimes it's the obvious crap that is the problem.
__________________
Make Beer, Not War.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 05:39 PM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,195
Liked 1654 Times on 1069 Posts


Isn't there a 20a fuse inside the case? I'm going on memory from the last time I had mine opened up.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
BIAB Large Mesh False Bottoms and SS HERMS COILS are IN!!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 06:06 PM   #4
MrShake
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Posts: 1,262
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


I looked for a fuse, didn't see one, but I'll check the manual online... I hope thats the case!!!

Oh, and MckBrew, I checked for power.. if I plug the keezer straight in, she turns on...
__________________
MrShake - Top Hat Brewery and Tapworks
Owner of BrewTroller

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 06:16 PM   #5
McKBrew
 
McKBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Hayden, Idaho
Posts: 8,204
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Isn't there a 20a fuse inside the case? I'm going on memory from the last time I had mine opened up.
I think you are right. Couldn't find a good schematic on line to check and I can't take mine apart from work.

Good Call.
__________________
Make Beer, Not War.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 01:31 PM   #6
MrShake
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Posts: 1,262
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


So, I didn't get a chance to open her back up yesterday, but I did look at a couple of sites that go through step-by-step in wiring them. I know its wired right, and I don't see a fuse.....

It looks like I'm on the hook for a new Ranco... grrrr
__________________
MrShake - Top Hat Brewery and Tapworks
Owner of BrewTroller

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 09:54 PM   #7
BargainFittings
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
BargainFittings's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Allen TX
Posts: 2,003
Liked 83 Times on 74 Posts


Check voltage across the cord and points of contact to be sure the plug is good.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 06:19 PM   #8
MrShake
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Posts: 1,262
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


Well, I checked voltage, the cord is fine. So, I pulled the board to see if there was a fuse or anything underneath and discovered the problem. It appears that during our water situation, the controller must have gotten wet. Rust and corrosion all over. I tried cleaning it to no avail. Oh well, I've got 2 dorm fridges up for sale to pay for the new controller.
__________________
MrShake - Top Hat Brewery and Tapworks
Owner of BrewTroller

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ranco 2 Stage Settings wtwerner General Techniques 4 08-01-2011 11:36 PM
Two-stage temp control with a single-stage controller stoutaholic General Techniques 4 07-21-2009 07:07 PM
ranco two stage sensor. Can it go in jar of goop? nathan Equipment/Sanitation 3 06-03-2008 01:47 AM
ranco one stage or two stage? fishnfever Bottling/Kegging 3 05-15-2008 10:30 AM
2 stage ferment vs. single stage sudsmonkey General Techniques 4 07-21-2005 02:28 AM


Forum Jump