Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Stupid beginner mistake.....

Old 07-08-2009, 11:19 PM   #1
nodough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Stupid beginner mistake.....

Hi, I'm completely new to homebrewing and am really looking forward to making some tasty brews. Unfortunately I've already screwed up. I'm making a 5 gallon Brewers Best IPA. Everything was going fine until 5 minutes ago. My brew has been sitting for 48 hrs and I just now noticed that I forgot to fill it up to the 5 gallon mark (it's just a little above the 4 gallon line). My question is: can I simply add the extra water without screwing up the brew? And did this effect my original gravity? Any help would be very much appreciated. Maybe next time I won't have so many beers

Old 07-08-2009, 11:24 PM   #2
Rick500
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

It made your OG higher. It'll be a stronger brew than if you had added water.

I'd just leave it alone. It'll be fine...a little stronger is all.

You could top it off if you really wanted to, but as I said, I'd leave it alone and see how it turns out. Maybe call it an imperial IPA.

Old 07-08-2009, 11:25 PM   #3
TipsyDragon
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts

im with Rick500. adding water now runs the risk of oxidation and contamination. leave it alone.

Old 07-08-2009, 11:26 PM   #4
arturo7
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 211 Times on 151 Posts

How much would you need to add to get 5 gal?

I wouldn't worry too much about it at this point. You'll just be a little higher in gravity and ABV.

Old 07-08-2009, 11:27 PM   #5
SavageSteve

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts

Welcome to HBT and homebrewing!

Yes, the short volume affected your original gravity. Less volume = higher concentration of sugars = higher original gravity.