Do you prefer homebrew to commercial micro-brew? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Do you prefer homebrew to commercial micro-brew?

Old 06-18-2009, 11:53 AM   #1
snailsongs
Recipes 

Dec 2008
Eugene, OR
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Yesterday I had a chance to sample my latest porter next to Central Waters Mudpuppy Porter. My porter was much much more enjoyable. It was smoother, richer and the chocolate coffee notes really popped out. The CW porter was somewhat bland, thin and tasteless in comparison.

I was honestly really surprised at this - Mudpuppy Porter was one of my go-to beers before I started brewing my own, and I think it's a great beer by most people's standards, so what gives? I've found I prefer my homebrew over much of the beer I used to drink, though there are still a few commercial beers I really enjoy (Sam Smith Oatmeal Stout, New Glarus Crack'd Wheat both come to mind). is it simply because the commercial beer is filtered? Do you generally prefer homebrew to micro-brew too? Why do you think that is?

Old 06-18-2009, 12:13 PM   #2
Edcculus

Recipes 

Jun 2007
Greenville, SC
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts

I just like beer

All kidding aside, it depends. I still buy commercial beer for the plethora of varieties and styles at the store. I can only have 2 beers on tap right now. Not that there is anything wrong with that. I sometimes want a porter in August when I don't necessarily want to have 5 gallons of it.

Old 06-18-2009, 12:20 PM   #3
hammacks
Recipes 

Jun 2008
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I have found I'm am less and less impressed with run-of-the-mill commercial brews. Some microbrews leave me thinking "well I can do that, and better". I do still enjoy well done commercials are out of my league at the moment. So to question, I prefer homebrew for most daily drinkage, but enjoy a "special" commercial once or twice a week.

Old 06-18-2009, 12:21 PM   #4
remilard
Recipes 

Nov 2008