Early retirement? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling > Early retirement?

Old 06-05-2009, 03:22 PM   #1
Kass_Brauhaus

Recipes 

Jan 2009
Arvada, Colorado
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Rambling time:

I am a PhD student. I've been in university since 2002, and I'm getting damn sick of it. I'm looking for part time work to change it up a little, but no luck so far (merchant mariner).

Can I quit and go straight to retirement? Can somebody tell me about a job where I can putter in a garage or woodworking shop all day? I'd start a brewpub but 1. no capital, 2. they're a dime-a-dozen in Denver, 3. I'm not that good a brewer.

Ok, phew. I'm done.
http://www.google.com/calendar/embed...America/Denver

Old 06-05-2009, 03:38 PM   #2
Kass_Brauhaus

Recipes 

Jan 2009
Arvada, Colorado
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Not to be whiny or anything...I know I have a good job...

Just not what I want to be doing.

Old 06-05-2009, 04:04 PM   #3
MMW
Recipes 

Apr 2009
Longview, TX
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I had two jobs while I was in grad school (MSEE):

1) Lumber yard at the big orange box. I drove forklifts, used power tools, stacked wood, and helped folks with their construction projects. It was actually a lot of fun and the pay was better than any other retail I could find. The only downside was closing...you're there till midnight or later many nights which sucked when you had to be at school at 0700 for

2) Research/Teaching assistant. I taught freshman engineering labs and graded papers 5-10 hours per week. 15-20 hours per week I basically putteres about with DSP boards making them do fun stuff to work into lab assignments for a project my boss was heading up.

I didn't sleep much for a couple of years

Old 06-05-2009, 04:04 PM   #4
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Mar 2007
North Augusta, SC
Liked 204 Times on 152 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kass_Brauhaus View Post