Magic Chef Keezer Problem - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Magic Chef Keezer Problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2009, 01:53 AM   #1
Gander
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
U.P. Michigan
Posts: 20


I bought a Magic Chef 7.2 CuFt freezer built a collar and installed my White-Rogers control that I had been using on a smaller keezer. Plugged it in, it ran fine for an hour or so, then installed my taps, gas distributor and moved my kegs into it and had a beer to celebrate last night. Came home this evening, poured myself a beer and thought that it was a little warm, readjusted the control, checked it a while later and no change, what the heck. The compressor is very warm, starts, runs for 3 seconds then shuts off, two and a half minutes later it repeats. I thought that I might have it too close to the wall. I unplugged it and moved it a couple more inches from the wall, waited for the compressor to return to room temperature and plugged it in, with the same results. Has anyone else had a similar problem using this unit? I called Home Depot and they will replace the unit, just do not want to go thru this time and again as they are an hour away.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:41 AM   #2
Flyin' Lion
 
Flyin' Lion's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2005
Chester, VA
Posts: 1,949
Liked 17 Times on 8 Posts


I may not be much help, but where is your probe for your White-Rogers controller? I assume the White-Rogers controller is similar to a Ranco or Johnson controller?

If the compressor seems to be running, I'd start troubleshooting the controller.


EDIT: Welcome to the forum from a fellow (former) Michigander!


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiobrewtus
John Madden has officially been put on suicide watch with the annoucement of Favre's retirement.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:51 AM   #3

Start with the simple stuff first.

What is the thermostat setting on the freezer? I'll assume its at the coldest setting.

The voltage coming out of the controller should be 110VAC. Check the amps too, that you have enough for the keezer to operate properly. I'd look at the keezer spec sheet to determine the current load. Don't use extension cords. (Edit: If they aren't rated for the amp load.)

You can yank the controller out of the circuit altogether and see if the problem lies with with just the controller. Don't let your beer freeze though.
__________________
Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get. - Dale Carnegie

On Tap; Special Export, Spring SmaSH Summit, House Amber.

BS Nano-Brewery

|Myeast 50327|Easy Hop Oast|Smoked Homebrew|


 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:19 AM   #4
gxm
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Portland, OR
Posts: 550
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlenkerla View Post
Don't use extension cords.
I understand the normal household extension cords aren't rated for the amperage of a freezer. Shouldn't you be able to use an extension cord thats rated for the amperage?

I've run my regular home freezer with a 20' 12 amp cord, because I've been too lazy to install an outlet there for 2 years now. I'm sure it's cost me a few pennies in extra juice.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:58 AM   #5
ruffdeezy
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
New West, BC
Posts: 403
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by gxm View Post
I understand the normal household extension cords aren't rated for the amperage of a freezer. Shouldn't you be able to use an extension cord thats rated for the amperage?

I've run my regular home freezer with a 20' 12 amp cord, because I've been too lazy to install an outlet there for 2 years now. I'm sure it's cost me a few pennies in extra juice.
I'm using a either a 'heavy duty' or 'medium duty' extension cord (can't remember which kind I bought) and it seems to be doing fine.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:38 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by gxm View Post
I understand the normal household extension cords aren't rated for the amperage of a freezer. Shouldn't you be able to use an extension cord thats rated for the amperage?

I've run my regular home freezer with a 20' 12 amp cord, because I've been too lazy to install an outlet there for 2 years now. I'm sure it's cost me a few pennies in extra juice.

Yes - That's True. You should know how many amps the keezer or fridge is pulling. FCS5233-03/FY800: Keeping it Safe: Extension Cords
__________________
Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get. - Dale Carnegie

On Tap; Special Export, Spring SmaSH Summit, House Amber.

BS Nano-Brewery

|Myeast 50327|Easy Hop Oast|Smoked Homebrew|

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:50 PM   #7
Budzu
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 747
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts


refrigerator problems and solutions, not cold enough, frost free repair information

Look at #3 on that link.

I had the same problem with an old refridgerator. Sanded it down, painted, put it in my house and it ran for a couple days then did exactly what yours is doing. I haven't done anything more to mine yet though.

Good luck!
__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 01:41 PM   #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Budzu View Post
refrigerator problems and solutions, not cold enough, frost free repair information

Look at #3 on that link.

I had the same problem with an old refridgerator. Sanded it down, painted, put it in my house and it ran for a couple days then did exactly what yours is doing. I haven't done anything more to mine yet though.

Good luck!

Wow! - This should be pretty helpful for the OP.
__________________
Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get. - Dale Carnegie

On Tap; Special Export, Spring SmaSH Summit, House Amber.

BS Nano-Brewery

|Myeast 50327|Easy Hop Oast|Smoked Homebrew|

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:15 PM   #9
Gander
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
U.P. Michigan
Posts: 20

Thank you all for your input. My problem was an electrical supply issue. I had been using a short extension chord on my smaller keezer and tried using the same with my new larger unit. I have installed a very short 14 gauge extension and all is working fine.

Flyin’ Lyon a White-Rogers control has the same type of sensor as a Johnson or Ranco, it is a direct wire unit that I have wired with a 3’ air conditioner extension chord.

Schlenkerla I have my freezer control set at two and a half on a range of 1 to 5, I have always avoided running any thing at max unless absolutely necessary. Would there be a benefit to having it set at the top of the range?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:19 PM   #10
Arkador
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,702
Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gander View Post
I have my freezer control set at two and a half on a range of 1 to 5, I have always avoided running any thing at max unless absolutely necessary. Would there be a benefit to having it set at the top of the range?
Because you are using the temprature controler, you want to make sure that the built in thermostat is never triggered. It is more important if you are using this in a fridge, since the magic chef has a swing of about 0-20f using it's thermostat. I have my 7.2fc MagicChef set to 1.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic Chef keezer dinks Kegerators & Keezers 41 10-13-2011 01:14 AM
Found the 'Magic' in 'Magic Chef' - keezer progress, questions MadDwarf Kegerators & Keezers 66 12-09-2010 05:41 PM
7.2 cu ft Magic Chef Chest Freezer jackson_d Bottling/Kegging 31 08-19-2009 02:45 PM
Magic chef chest freezer? Tankard Equipment/Sanitation 9 08-29-2008 05:51 AM
Magic Chef 7.2cu ft kegorater hammer one Equipment/Sanitation 2 07-04-2008 05:52 PM


Forum Jump