Rye American Amber Amarillo Ale w/ Honey (or RAAAAH!) - please advise me

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snailsongs

Reaction score
I'd like to submit this for criticism. My main questions:

Do the crystal amounts look sound?

How about the hops, AAU's?

I've never used honey before....should I add it at the end of the boil, to the secondary or just leave it out? I was gonna mash at 153F, but should I mash higher to compensate for the body-lightening effect of the honey?

Rye Amberillo

American Amber Ale

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
8.00 lb Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 70.2 %
1.00 lb Rye, Flaked (2.0 SRM) Grain 8.8 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (120.0 SRM) Grain 4.4 %
0.40 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 3.5 %
0.35 lb Caravienne Malt (22.0 SRM) Grain 3.1 %
0.15 lb Pale Chocolate (200.0 SRM) Grain 1.3 %
0.75 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 25.5 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50%] (60 min) Hops 10.0 IBU
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (5 min) Hops 3.1 IBU
0.25 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (10 min) Hops 2.8 IBU
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50%] (0 min) Hops -
1.00 lb Honey (1.0 SRM) Sugar 8.8 %
1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056) [Starter 125 ml] Yeast-Ale

Est Original Gravity: 1.057 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.014 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.7 %
Bitterness: 41.4 IBU
Est Color: 15.3 SRM

thanks for your input, I always appreciate it! :mug:

Looks good to me, but I like honey and Amarillo hops. Yes, add the honey at flame out and you'll retain more of the flavor and aroma. Like in hops, those compounds will be lost if the honey is boiled for a long time.