Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > BeerSmith - I'm doing it wrong!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2009, 12:14 AM   #1
Gremlyn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,524
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default BeerSmith - I'm doing it wrong!

Well, maybe... I am getting ready to brew a Pete's Wicked Ale Clone and have everything entered into BeerSmith. I think I have my equipment profile set up properly and I selected single infusion batch sparge. The software knows (supposedly) that I have a 4 gallon brew pot, but it is telling me to use 7.19 qts of water for mash and then 2.39 gallons for sparge, but I can't boil all of that! What am I missing? I am doing a PM with 5.75 lbs of grain. I could do this with two pots (I have a 4 gal and a 3 gal), anyone know how to set that up in BeerSmith?


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I'm a fan of "getting it in the can"!
Gremlyn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 12:19 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 65,146
Liked 5940 Times on 4235 Posts
Likes Given: 1516

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlyn1 View Post
Well, maybe... I am getting ready to brew a Pete's Wicked Ale Clone and have everything entered into BeerSmith. I think I have my equipment profile set up properly and I selected single infusion batch sparge. The software knows (supposedly) that I have a 4 gallon brew pot, but it is telling me to use 7.19 qts of water for mash and then 2.39 gallons for sparge, but I can't boil all of that! What am I missing? I am doing a PM with 5.75 lbs of grain. I could do this with two pots (I have a 4 gal and a 3 gal), anyone know how to set that up in BeerSmith?
Hmmm. Can you post the BSM file here, and see if I can take a look and check the settings? (click on that recipe, and then go to "file, export as...." and export it. Then, post it back here, by clicking the paperclip and attaching it. It's easier than it sounds).

What size boil do you have on the main recipe page?


__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 12:44 AM   #3
chumprock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Liked 34 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Dead space, grain absorption, or other factors in your equipment that makes for a liquid loss? I'm counting a little over 7 qts for mash, and a little under 10 quarts for sparge..

It's cutting it close, but I wonder if the loss is being calculated to give you those volumes.
chumprock is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:21 AM   #4
Gremlyn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,524
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Don't seem to be able to export, assuming that's because I'm on the trial version.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I'm a fan of "getting it in the can"!
Gremlyn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 01:30 PM   #5
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 65,146
Liked 5940 Times on 4235 Posts
Likes Given: 1516

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlyn1 View Post
Don't seem to be able to export, assuming that's because I'm on the trial version.
Ok. Check the very front page, back on the recipe, where you can put in the "batch size" and the "boil size". make sure you have the correct boil size there. That should fix it.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:44 PM   #6
Gremlyn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,524
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Looks like my boil is indeed set to 3.25 gal, so then their numbers should be right to get me there then?

Click image for larger version

Name:	beersmith.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	11260
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I'm a fan of "getting it in the can"!
Gremlyn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 06:58 PM   #7
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 65,146
Liked 5940 Times on 4235 Posts
Likes Given: 1516

Default

I don't know. Click on "preview brewsheet" and see what it says. That will have step by step instructions, including volume.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 07:46 PM   #8
Gremlyn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,524
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Hmm, yeah looks like it might just be attributing a lot of it to losses. Guess there is only one way to find out
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I'm a fan of "getting it in the can"!
Gremlyn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:52 AM   #9
Whiskey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Granville, Ohio
Posts: 735
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default

I use BTP and that sounds about right. My last PM batch I had 2.03 gallons of strike water(8.12 qts), I had first runnings of a little less then one gallon.

Mash in, wait one hour, get your first runnings, and then sparge. I used 2.6 gallons split between two sparges.

Your grain will soak up a whole lot of that strike water.

Check out Bobby_M's "BTP How to" videos here....

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f84/btp-...set-up-117415/
__________________
Insert catchy signature here....

Whiskey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 01:42 AM   #10
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Hang Glider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,200
Liked 167 Times on 130 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

+1 for Grain absorption
Total water according to OP is 4.187 gal.
you'll likely lose close to 1 gal to the grains.


Hang Glider is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Always the wrong place wrong time OHIOSTEVE Wine Making Forum 7 10-04-2009 07:07 PM
Something always goes wrong! murphyslaw All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 7 09-07-2009 03:31 PM
Beersmith volumes wrong toastermm Brewing Software 3 06-02-2009 08:13 PM
What did I do wrong? isp845 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 12-30-2008 09:00 PM
Tell me if I was right or wrong in saying this? RAZ Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 16 03-12-2007 06:22 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS