Does BEERSMITH figure efficiency? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Brewing Software > Does BEERSMITH figure efficiency?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2009, 11:17 PM   #1
ZooBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 137
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



Does BEERSMITH figure efficiency? I just did an all-grain Belgian using the 'Brew-in-a-bag' method from the Mar-Apr BREW magazine article.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:32 PM   #2
PintOfBitter
 
PintOfBitter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
USA
Posts: 1,154
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts


I don't think you can measure your efficiency without powdering some malt and mashing it. Any other method of defining your baseline (theoretical 100%) is just an estimate.
__________________
-PoB

Maybe you can use these Grain, Hops, Yeast Reference Charts

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:47 PM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,330
Liked 1765 Times on 1122 Posts


Yes beersmith figures efficiency for any wort derived from malt. You have to fill in the grain you used and how much, then enter what your finished batch size and gravity was.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:23 AM   #4
ZooBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 137
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Where in the program do I do that?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:26 AM   #5
Coastarine
We get it, you hate BMC.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Coastarine's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
New Bern, NC
Posts: 2,516
Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts


Get to the view where you would edit a recipe and push the button labeled "Brewhouse Efficiency" next to the box where you entered your efficiency estimate, just to the right of the boil time. It will open a dialog where you fill in the numbers.
__________________
SEMPER FIDELIS ET SEMPER PARATUS Bringin' the 'pane...the propane.Coming Up:..[Hefewiezen][BCS Robust Porter][EdWort's Haus Pale Ale][Peated Ale]
Fermenting:.
Conditioning:[Oaked Cider][ESB]
On Tap.........[The Munchner][Spiced Cider][English Cider][Simcoe IPA][Triple Hops Grooved][Cider'n 'gnac]

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:43 PM   #6
ZooBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 137
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I filled in all the numbers and nothing happens.

Does ProMash figure efficiency? Or some other program besides BeerSmith. I'm about ready to dump this cumbersome program full of uneditable bugs.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:22 PM   #7
ajf
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
ajf's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Long Island
Posts: 4,646
Liked 105 Times on 99 Posts


Sounds like a case of PEBKAC (Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair).
I found BeerSmith to be difficult to use, but I had no difficulty in figuring efficiency with it.

-a.
__________________
There are only 10 types of people in this world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:30 PM   #8
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 96 Times on 81 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ZooBrew View Post
I filled in all the numbers and nothing happens.

Does ProMash figure efficiency? Or some other program besides BeerSmith. I'm about ready to dump this cumbersome program full of uneditable bugs.
ProMash automatically figures it. It looks at your recipe, where you created it... then your gravity reading from your hydrometer and the volume. You input the OG and the volume for the batch and it spits it out at you, because it is already looking at your grain bill, potential points, volume etc... everything is linked together. So, all you do is tell it your ACTUAL OG and your ACTUAL volume and it already knows the rest.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:10 PM   #9
ZooBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 137
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Looks like Promash is the better choise. I'll check it out.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:26 PM   #10
HairyDogBrewing
 
HairyDogBrewing's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 571
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


In beersmith, just click brewhouse efficiency and enter your OG.
The brewhouse efficiency is then calculated from your recipe and batch volume.
It's easy.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to figure out efficiency with beersmith Shoemaker All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 2 10-22-2009 05:21 AM
Beersmith Efficiency Mountainbeers Brewing Software 8 09-25-2009 01:52 AM
who wants to help me figure out my efficiency!? hopsy All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 3 07-02-2009 08:05 AM
Quick Question About Efficiency and Beersmith culaslucas All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 04-20-2009 04:26 PM
How to figure efficiency in a new system jjooeellmm All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 10 03-18-2009 07:48 PM


Forum Jump