Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators and Keezers > Chest Freezer Kegerator Build

Old 04-29-2009, 05:34 AM   #1
bakersbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Chest Freezer Kegerator Build

UPDATE - Well, I did it! Jump ahead to the end for pictures. If you were like me and dont know how to build anything, let me know and I will try to help out. Thanks to anyone who gave me advice.

alright, here is the situation -

i am very new to homebrewing, but i already love it. on my second batch i am already ready to keg. thus, i need a kegerator. i have decided to convert a chest freezer into a kegerator using the collar build method.

here is my problem. i am not very handy. i can build things and have in the past, but i sort of need some instruction. i have been searching everywhere for a definitive DIY for days but havent found anything with step by step instructions. everything is just a general description of the build.

can anyone help me out on this?

here is some info on what i want to do - i am going to use the magic chef 5.5 cu ft chest freezer. i only need to have two beers on tap at once. no more. here is the link to the chest freezer.

Magic Chef 5.5 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - MCCF5WBX at The Home Depot

any help you guys can give me would be much appreciated. i really want to build this bad boy. thanks

Old 04-29-2009, 03:30 PM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 8

What part are you specifically looking for? Do you need help with the collar, faucet mounting, etc....

Old 04-29-2009, 04:02 PM   #3
bakersbrew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

the collar build to start with. how is the collar attached to the freezer?

the other stuff i will deal with after i have built the collar.

Old 04-29-2009, 04:05 PM   #4
Arkador
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 10