Volume of Various TV Programs/Channels - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Volume of Various TV Programs/Channels

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
jgln
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Southern, NJ
Posts: 3,486
Liked 54 Times on 42 Posts



Doesn't the FCC regulate this stuff?? Just about every time a commercial comes on the volume is way louder than the program I am watching so I have to turn it down. When I change the channel one program's volume may be way louder than the other. We seem to be constantly adjusting the volume because the networks apparently don't have to comply with any volume standards; they decide how loud I will listen to something. Sometimes I get so mad I want to write a letter but I am sure nothing will come from it. This is really annoying late at night when others are in bed sleeping and I decided on a reasonable volume then BAM, the TV is blasting!

Am I the only one annoyed by this?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 07:59 PM   #2
llazy_llama
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 2,839
Liked 90 Times on 28 Posts


Most newer TVs adjust that automatically. Time to upgrade!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catt22 View Post
I would never use a dead mouse in my beer. It's much better to use live ones. You could probably just steep a dead one, but live ones must be mashed. Actually, smashed and mashed would be best.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:00 PM   #3
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 58,332
Liked 7383 Times on 6069 Posts


It usually more often a setting in your television itself that contrrols this. It also comes by many names depending on the manufacturer. I think the FCC does have some controlof this but, they also give a pretty long leash too.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:02 PM   #4
jgln
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Southern, NJ
Posts: 3,486
Liked 54 Times on 42 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by llazy_llama View Post
Most newer TVs adjust that automatically. Time to upgrade!
For my Sony HD TV already?? We just got a new VISIO flat screen last year for the kitchen and it doesn't control the volume either. I guess I missed out on that feature by only months.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:05 PM   #5
jgln
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Southern, NJ
Posts: 3,486
Liked 54 Times on 42 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by GilaMinumBeer View Post
It usually more often a setting in your television itself that contrrols this. It also comes by many names depending on the manufacturer. I think the FCC does have some controlof this but, they also give a pretty long leash too.
Is that control called "The volume control of the volume control button"?
How about the "I can set the volume and it won't change unless I want it to button"?

I'll have to pull out the manuals tonight. I'll be P'd and yet happy if mine actually have this feature.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:09 PM   #6
jgln
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Southern, NJ
Posts: 3,486
Liked 54 Times on 42 Posts


Point here also is that sometimes the volume increase is not just minor, but hurt your ears louder. I mean what the hell?? Sometimes we go diving for the remote the change is so great. And I am not talking about a commercial with a rock band in it, it could have butterflies in it and the volume still annoys us.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:09 PM   #7
llazy_llama
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 2,839
Liked 90 Times on 28 Posts


If it's a newer HDTV, it should definitely have that feature. If not, that's sort of like them selling a 2008 car that didn't come with cup holders.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catt22 View Post
I would never use a dead mouse in my beer. It's much better to use live ones. You could probably just steep a dead one, but live ones must be mashed. Actually, smashed and mashed would be best.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:45 PM   #8
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 58,332
Liked 7383 Times on 6069 Posts


Well, my Samsung calls it "Automatic Volume Control". I know some sets call it "Program Volume Control". Regardless it's always a On/Off setting buried within the sets menues. Usually the sound setting menu but sometimes in a general menu.

Many times tho', I have seen that "whatever it's called" does not work if External speakers are used.

IIRC, some of the Dish STB's have a similar function too.

Meh. I always leave mine off.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 12:14 AM   #9
dzlater
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
New Jersey
Posts: 1,089
Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts


I use the mute button for commercials
A friend was over watching TV with us and commented that she never saw any one mute the commercials.
I thought that's what it was made for.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 01:12 AM   #10
jkarp
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Elizabeth, CO
Posts: 2,109
Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts


God bless my Dish Network DVR and its 30-second skip button.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programs Terry08 Brewing Software 14 07-14-2008 01:55 AM
computer programs Mustangfreak General Beer Discussion 2 02-27-2008 12:05 AM
Channels I love MikeFlynn74 General Chit Chat 35 12-13-2007 01:53 AM
Programs used for labels??? mattsredfocus Label Display & Discussion 4 09-22-2006 12:46 AM


Forum Jump