Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > question for BCS-460 users
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default question for BCS-460 users

Question for all you BCS-460 users:

Do you have manual switches for your elements?

In my current setup, I have PID's controlling SSR's. I also have a DPST switch so I can switch element off quickly and easily. I may rebuild my rig again - I was a single tier I've decided - and was contemplating doing BCS-460 or something like this:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/cont...17/index6.html

I'm thinking if I have switches for the elements outside of the BCS-460 it sorta ruins the whole point of it bcs I will still have to do some possible "manual" stuff. However, the BCS-460 would be pretty cool and "cleaner"...


bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
HomebrewJeff
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 300
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I don't use the BCS, but I'm using the BrewTroller, and yes I do have separate switches for all elements and pumps.

Here is a mockup of mine:



Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it. This gives you the manual control to do whatever you want, without having to setup everything through the system.


HomebrewJeff is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:42 AM   #3
slimer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
slimer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Westmont, IL
Posts: 723
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

I ran switches to the outlet to be able to use it as a kill switch to kill current to anything that I needed to. Pumps, elements, etc.

I'm planning on doing an all hot panel with outlets that are hot all the time so I can switch wires around if I need to (pumps) for manual control.

Disclaimer: I'm having trouble with my little project box with 1 SSR that I'm using as a test box. I think it's either the relay or my stupidity with the BCS.

Pictures:
Switch

Box

Jumper for kill switch
slimer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 04:16 AM   #4
SoCalBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rancho Mirage, Ca
Posts: 12
Default

I use switches so I can use the BCS or go manual without it hooked up and use my Love controllers
__________________
ON TAP / BOTTLED: Chocolate RIS 9.6%, Desert Breeze Saison 5.7%, BN Brown Ale 5.8%

FERMENTING: Vanilla Bourbon Barrel Chocolate Stout 1.061sg

ON DECK: American Bitter, Honey Wheat, Downtown Brown, Pliny Clone
SoCalBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:11 PM   #5
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 175
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements
  1. On - Manual
  2. Off - Disconnected
  3. Auto - Connected to SSR controlled via BCS
You can always force an output manually via the BCS-460 interface, but for pumps its really nice to be able to prime it by flipping a switch. Also useful for cleaning.
__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook
eccsynd is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:09 PM   #6
HomebrewJeff
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 300
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

One other reason that I just thought of, is that I'm only using a 2000watt element in my kettle. During the sparge, as soon as the element is submerged, I can kick the heat on to get ready for the boil. By the time the sparge is over the wort is at a near boil.
HomebrewJeff is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 03:27 PM   #7
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomebrewJeff View Post
Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it.
Not just defeating purpose of automation, but also simplifying the layout of electrical stuff, boxes, etc.
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 03:30 PM   #8
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccsynd View Post
3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements[LIST=1]
Hmm, I think I like this idea. Let me think on that...


bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for carboy cap users hoplobster General Techniques 13 04-07-2010 04:17 PM
Question for ranco users...... martymoat Equipment/Sanitation 6 12-04-2008 05:59 PM
Conical Users: Question PitsPale Equipment/Sanitation 4 10-24-2008 07:17 PM
ProMash Users! Question... Evan! Recipes/Ingredients 3 08-25-2006 06:29 PM
Question for Mr Beer users... UdderJuice Equipment/Sanitation 19 10-30-2004 07:20 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS