question for BCS-460 users - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > question for BCS-460 users

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
bakins
 
bakins's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2008
West Georgia
Posts: 728
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts



Question for all you BCS-460 users:

Do you have manual switches for your elements?

In my current setup, I have PID's controlling SSR's. I also have a DPST switch so I can switch element off quickly and easily. I may rebuild my rig again - I was a single tier I've decided - and was contemplating doing BCS-460 or something like this:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/cont...17/index6.html

I'm thinking if I have switches for the elements outside of the BCS-460 it sorta ruins the whole point of it bcs I will still have to do some possible "manual" stuff. However, the BCS-460 would be pretty cool and "cleaner"...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
HomebrewJeff
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 299
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I don't use the BCS, but I'm using the BrewTroller, and yes I do have separate switches for all elements and pumps.

Here is a mockup of mine:



Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it. This gives you the manual control to do whatever you want, without having to setup everything through the system.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:42 AM   #3
slimer
 
slimer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Westmont, IL
Posts: 688
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I ran switches to the outlet to be able to use it as a kill switch to kill current to anything that I needed to. Pumps, elements, etc.

I'm planning on doing an all hot panel with outlets that are hot all the time so I can switch wires around if I need to (pumps) for manual control.

Disclaimer: I'm having trouble with my little project box with 1 SSR that I'm using as a test box. I think it's either the relay or my stupidity with the BCS.

Pictures:
Switch

Box

Jumper for kill switch

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 04:16 AM   #4
SoCalBrewer
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Rancho Mirage, Ca
Posts: 12

I use switches so I can use the BCS or go manual without it hooked up and use my Love controllers
__________________
ON TAP / BOTTLED: Chocolate RIS 9.6%, Desert Breeze Saison 5.7%, BN Brown Ale 5.8%

FERMENTING: Vanilla Bourbon Barrel Chocolate Stout 1.061sg

ON DECK: American Bitter, Honey Wheat, Downtown Brown, Pliny Clone

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:11 PM   #5
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Minnesota
Posts: 172
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements
  1. On - Manual
  2. Off - Disconnected
  3. Auto - Connected to SSR controlled via BCS
You can always force an output manually via the BCS-460 interface, but for pumps its really nice to be able to prime it by flipping a switch. Also useful for cleaning.
__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:09 PM   #6
HomebrewJeff
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 299
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


One other reason that I just thought of, is that I'm only using a 2000watt element in my kettle. During the sparge, as soon as the element is submerged, I can kick the heat on to get ready for the boil. By the time the sparge is over the wort is at a near boil.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 03:27 PM   #7
bakins
 
bakins's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2008
West Georgia
Posts: 728
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by HomebrewJeff View Post
Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it.
Not just defeating purpose of automation, but also simplifying the layout of electrical stuff, boxes, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 03:30 PM   #8
bakins
 
bakins's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2008
West Georgia
Posts: 728
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by eccsynd View Post
3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements[LIST=1]
Hmm, I think I like this idea. Let me think on that...

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for carboy cap users hoplobster General Techniques 13 04-07-2010 04:17 PM
Question for ranco users...... martymoat Equipment/Sanitation 6 12-04-2008 05:59 PM
Conical Users: Question PitsPale Equipment/Sanitation 4 10-24-2008 07:17 PM
ProMash Users! Question... Evan! Recipes/Ingredients 3 08-25-2006 06:29 PM
Question for Mr Beer users... UdderJuice Equipment/Sanitation 19 10-30-2004 07:20 AM


Forum Jump