Keezer Temperature Controller Without Changing Freezer? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Keezer Temperature Controller Without Changing Freezer?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
Jif
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
St. Louis
Posts: 211
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



I'm starting to build a keezer with the remnants of my dearly departed Oster 5.0. My goal with this one is to keep everyone done in such a way that if something goes wrong, I can quickly revert the thing back to factory status and get warranty coverage from the manufacturer. I figure with a collar, this won't be too difficult. The real issue is the temperature controller. From the look of it, only the Johnson appears to be of a sort that doesn't require you to tap into the freezer's wiring, with just an in-line plug. Can other temperature controllers be wired in a way to bypass the freezer thermostat (just leaving it on full blast) so I don't have to cut any wires in there?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:07 PM   #2
Boerderij_Kabouter
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,750
Liked 147 Times on 119 Posts


Any of the controllers can be used as a plug and play solution. I think the Ranco and the Johnson are the best setup for this. They are very easy to wire into an extension cord, and you simply plug the freezer into the controlled cord.

I don't understand what you are worried about going wrong? The collar design is very easy and looks good. I would go with that.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:22 PM   #3
Jif
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
St. Louis
Posts: 211
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Oh I'm for sure doing the collar, I just didn't know that any of the controllers could be wired as "plug and play." You just wire it up to a regular AC cord?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:41 PM   #4
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Posts: 50,268
Liked 3337 Times on 3203 Posts


Instead of wiring the compressor across the switch of the temperature controller, you wire a cord across that switch of the temperature controller with a female end, then put your fridge on a cold setting equal to or below where you'll want it, and plug the fridge into that plug. You'll need a plug of course with the male end that supplies power to the controller to plug into the wall.

All it's doing it cutting power to the entire fridge (as if you unplugged it from a wall) when the temp is met by opening the contacts of that switch you wired your female plug to, as apposed to to it just cutting power to the compressor. The only advantage wiring direct has is any lighting will still work at all times where as you're desired method cuts power to lighting as well when the compressor is not running.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo's mom


 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:41 PM   #5
Augie62
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
New Haven, MI
Posts: 14


Has anyone ever bought one of these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mini-Temperature...item1e6248a148

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:44 PM   #6
BendBrewer
Recipes 
 
Jan 2010
Bend, Oregon
Posts: 3,134
Liked 77 Times on 59 Posts


You want this:

http://brewstock.enstore.com/item/jo...tor-thermostat
__________________
CarPort Brewery
JCMAC Farms Garden

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:04 AM   #7
devilishprune
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Posts: 1,241
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Augie62 View Post
Has anyone ever bought one of these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mini-Temperature...item1e6248a148
No, never: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/ebay...-build-163849/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:11 AM   #8
rens
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
London, UK
Posts: 6

Hi guys, I'm just getting set up to build a "keezer" here in the UK. does anyone have advice on getting a temperature controller that will work with UK mains voltage? There seem to be a lot of US 110v units out there but I'v not found an obvious 230v one.

Apologies if this is obvious and I've just missed it!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 02:22 AM   #9
jasonkeithscott
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Rochester, New York
Posts: 35


Quote:
Originally Posted by rens View Post
There seem to be a lot of US 110v units out there but I'v not found an obvious 230v one.
Get a Dwyer/Love TSS2. They offer 230V, 115V even 12/24V DC units.

If the TSS2 doesn't suit you, they have many other models to pick from.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
rens
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
London, UK
Posts: 6

Thanks jasonkeithscott. I'll have a look. I also found this:

http://www.forttex.com/index.php?mai...products_id=45



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where in your keezer do you put your temperature controller probe? Stevorino Bottling/Kegging 21 01-02-2011 07:06 PM
Fermenting in a freezer (with a temperature controller) thrstyunderwater Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 11-04-2009 07:03 PM
Changing temperature while laggering HangDawg General Techniques 5 01-24-2008 08:15 PM
Will a Temperature Controller ruin a chest freezer? wizardofza Equipment/Sanitation 13 11-07-2007 08:23 PM


Forum Jump