Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Local brewing clubs/groups in SF east bay?

Old 07-22-2006, 05:24 AM   #1
bassplayrr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Location: SF East Bay Area, CA. About 15min. from MoreBeer in Concord. :D
Default Local brewing clubs/groups in SF east bay?

I'm new to brewing (actually haven't even started; the last bits of my brewing kit are scheduled to arrive Mon.) and am unfamiliar with my local homebrewing 'scene.' I'm a big Subaru enthusiast and as such I found that as helpful as the online forums were, I learned exponentially more by meeting face to face with a local chapter of a Subaru/WRX owner's club. Is such a thing common in the homebrewing world. Obviously there is the AHA, but how common is it to find local clubs that get together, fraternize, talk all things beer, and just generally B.S.? More specifically, does anyone know of such a club in the San Francisco east bay area. I live about 15-20 minutes from a popular homebrew distributor (morebeer.com) so I assume the homebrew hobby must be fairly alive and well in my area. Thanks for the help guys!

-Chris

Old 07-22-2006, 01:10 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

start by googling your town, state & homebrewer or go over to morebeer and ask. And if you ever hit Bezerkley, go to the Oak Barrel & check with Homer.

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 07-22-2006, 06:21 PM   #3
bassplayrr

Recipes 

Following your advice I did stop by the Oak Barrel to look around, but forgot the gentleman's name I was supposed to be looking for. I'll be back in berkley this coming week, so I'll have to remember this time. Now, it looks like I'm off to practice my google-fu. Thanks again for the input.

-Chris

Old 07-22-2006, 10:00 PM   #4
budbo
Beer is good
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9