Using hydrometer - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Using hydrometer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
daveooph131
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,112
Liked 35 Times on 28 Posts



I know...I know...I'm a fricken noob.

I'm trying to take my first gravity reading from the primary and I don't think I'm doing something right.

So it's been ferementing two weeks...grabbed a sample and filled my test tube thing about half way full, is that too much?

My reading was at 1.080 but that can't be right.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:35 PM   #2
daveooph131
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,112
Liked 35 Times on 28 Posts


Also just sampled some, not to bad. It's suppose to be a Bev. Hefe and the taste is there maybe a little water down, but all and all for only two weeks I'm thinking it's on track.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:36 PM   #3
ifishsum
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Portland OR
Posts: 1,447
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


I fill the sample tube up 2/3 to 3/4, otherwise the hydrometer bottoms out.
__________________
"If you're gonna be an ape, be a hairy one" - Spyder

Primary 2: Edwort's Robust Porter
Secondary 1: LW Pale Ale
Secondary 1: Blackened Soul RIS
Kegged: Dead Guy Ale
Kegged: Rye Pale Ale
Kegged: Haus Pale Ale
Kegged: Nut Brown Ale
Kegged: Afrikan Amber
Kegged: Jock Scott Ale
Kegged: Afrikan Amber

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:38 PM   #4
ericm
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Posts: 210

you can't really fill the tube too much (as far as taking an accurate reading; you can fill it 'too much' so that some spills out when you put the hydrometer in; and you in effect waste more beer, but it won't make the reading inaccurate - as long as it's freely floating you're good)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:41 PM   #5
phatuna
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
San Diego
Posts: 794
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


1.080 doesn't sound right.
Are you sure it doesnt say 1.008?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:51 PM   #6
daveooph131
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,112
Liked 35 Times on 28 Posts


OK finally got it...the hyrdometer is finally freely floating, I guess I didn't have enough in the tube at first. THanks guys!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:53 PM   #7
ChshreCat
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 11,538
Liked 538 Times on 431 Posts


I always put my hydrometer in the sample tube and then fill it until the hydro moves.
__________________
"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #8
daveooph131
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,112
Liked 35 Times on 28 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChshreCat View Post
I always put my hydrometer in the sample tube and then fill it until the hydro moves.

That's what I did on my second attempt, and YES much much better results

I felt like an idiot when I was getting a reading of 1.080...I was about to throw up my hands and say crap you don't deserve to be in the hobby.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:02 PM   #9
JohnnyO
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Hamden, CT
Posts: 8,999
Liked 917 Times on 857 Posts


That's a good idea about putting the hydrometer in first. I hadn't thought of that.

Thanks!



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hydrometer alexcider Cider Forum 21 11-03-2011 11:44 PM
Hydrometer help Teufelhunden Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 11-07-2009 12:22 AM
Hydrometer Jar? Alaska_ROB Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 22 03-03-2009 11:41 PM
hydrometer Brown stone Equipment/Sanitation 2 05-03-2008 05:30 PM
Hydrometer help knipknup Bottling/Kegging 3 12-12-2006 07:38 AM


Forum Jump