Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Will this do what I need for a heating element control?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2009, 07:28 PM   #1
RedIrocZ-28
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RedIrocZ-28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 874
Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Will this do what I need for a heating element control?

I have become interested in modifying a kettle to accept a Heating element, because I may want to do full boils indoors next winter. But my stove will not boil 6.5 gallons before eternity.

So, I looked into The Pol's HERMS setup and some other stuff. Then I remembered that I have one of these https://www.coleparmer.co.uk/catalog...sp?sku=0157500

Would I be able to hook up a heating element to that and control the boil?


RedIrocZ-28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
DakotaPrerunner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Posts: 171
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

No, to get a heating element to produce its rated wattage you need it to be at its proper voltage. If a 240v element is only driven with 120-140v you will get less than half the rated wattage. your best bet would be a PID/SSR combo. A PID/SSR/heatsink should cost around $80. PIDs are easy to wire and the benifit is set and forget temp control. check out www.auberins.com/


DakotaPrerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 08:55 PM   #3
RedIrocZ-28
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RedIrocZ-28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 874
Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Can't I get a 120V heating element? I only plan on doing 5.5 batches with it.
RedIrocZ-28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:03 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,700
Liked 1263 Times on 833 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Yes, I think 120v units can be had in 1500w and 2000w. It would definitely help your stovetop along but wouldn't do any good by itself. In that case you might as well just run them on/off and use your stovetop control to fine tune the boil.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
July 4th Sale, $20 off plate chillers through July 4th.
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:09 PM   #5
RedIrocZ-28
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RedIrocZ-28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 874
Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Dumb question, can I hook 2- 2000's in parallel?
RedIrocZ-28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:12 PM   #6
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springport, Michigan
Posts: 938
Liked 58 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

A 3000W 120VAC element would draw 25A. The unit you linked to is only rated at 10A. You could only run a max of 1200W. I think it'd take quite a while to get a boil going.
__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Duck Lake EPA
Duck Pee (Cream of Three Crops variant)

Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - 0
evanmars is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:57 PM   #7
RedIrocZ-28
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RedIrocZ-28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 874
Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ok, the unit I posted is not exactly the one I have. It was my grandpa's equipment actually, probably built sometime in the 60's or 70's and it weighs at least 15lbs. I'll have to go have a look when I get a chance but, lets just assume its a 25A model. I could then run a 3000W element, yes?
RedIrocZ-28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 08:36 PM   #8
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springport, Michigan
Posts: 938
Liked 58 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

In theory, yes. You'd need a 25A 120V circuit. Not likely. 20A is probably the best you're going to get. 2400W. Why use the variable transformer at all? You'd probably want to just run the element full out. By itself, a 2400W element, assuming no losses, i.e. ambient air trying to cool the water, would take nearly an hour to bring 6.5 gal of 70*F water to 212*F.
YMMV.
__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Duck Lake EPA
Duck Pee (Cream of Three Crops variant)

Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - 0
evanmars is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 09:24 PM   #9
RedIrocZ-28
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RedIrocZ-28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 874
Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Well, this answers my questions completely then. Looks like I will simply revert to split boils this winter, indoors. But thats like 7 or 8 months away still. I have ALL SUMMER to brew outside. Can't wait to be standing there in shorts and sandals slaving over a boiling kettle outside when its 85*
RedIrocZ-28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:33 PM   #10
babalu87
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Middleborough, MA
Posts: 1,914
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanmars View Post
A 3000W 120VAC element would draw 25A. The unit you linked to is only rated at 10A. You could only run a max of 1200W. I think it'd take quite a while to get a boil going.

Where can one find a 3K watt 120 element?


babalu87 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
past posting of a 555 timer to control the heating element, where is it? BrewBeemer Equipment/Sanitation 12 10-27-2009 09:03 PM
Rust on my Heating Element BuckyBrewing Brew Stands 7 10-11-2009 03:15 PM
Immersian heating element Ceedubya Brew Stands 7 02-08-2009 01:20 PM
No + / - on heating element RockfordWhite Other 11 10-04-2008 04:33 PM
Mounting a heating element King of Cascade Equipment/Sanitation 12 10-02-2008 04:29 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS