Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Temperature Control

Old 03-28-2009, 10:01 PM   #1
jescholler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default Temperature Control

I'm currently fermenting my 1st batch. My wife is complaining that we're wasting energy because I'm keeping our temperature constant at 67F. The recipe kit I used called for 64-74F. Normally, when we're not home or sleeping, we will turn our thermostat down to 60F and have it at 66F when we're home and awake. Since the beer needs to be above 64, we can't do that.

My question is, what does everyone here do for situations like this? Surely my wife isn't the only one to complain and ale yeast typically likes to be near 70F. I'm an electrical engineer, so I wouldn't mind designing a regulated thermal chamber...

Oh yeah, my basement temperature is about 60F this time of year, so using the basement without adding any heat is out of the question.

Primary: Not until fall :(
Bottle: English Barleywine
On Deck: Session APA, Vanilla Oatmeal Stout

Old 03-28-2009, 10:41 PM   #2
stokems
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Make lager...

Old 03-28-2009, 10:45 PM   #3
rsmith179
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I simply use a small space heater in the fruit cellar of our basement. Keeps the room at a perfect 70F with the built in thermometer. You should be fine without keeping the house temps at 70F though. The temperature inside your primary is actually a good 5-7F hotter than the ambient temps due to the heat released during fermentation. My first few batches were in the 60 degree basement and came out fine.

Old 03-29-2009, 12:55 AM   #4
LooyvilleLarry
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Same problem here.