Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Can I use a 5 gallon glass carboy as a primary for a 2.5 gallon batch
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2009, 04:36 PM   #1
bgough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 304
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Can I use a 5 gallon glass carboy as a primary for a 2.5 gallon batch

Im going to try a 2.5 gallon all grain batch with death brewer's method. Will my 5 gallon carboy leave too much headspace as the primary fermenter?


bgough is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:39 PM   #2
truckmann
Mann Cave Brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
truckmann's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mannford, OK
Posts: 515
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I don't understand why people are so concerned with head space in the fermenter. I have put 5 gallons in a 15 gallon plastic barrel to ferment and that beer recently got sent on for national COC judging. I think you will be fine.


truckmann is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
Lou
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 623
Liked 14 Times on 6 Posts

Default

yeah, the only thing more headspace is going to do is prevent a major blowoff mess. nothing bad can happen from having extra headspace in your primary fermenter. it will fill with krausen and CO2 and your beer won't ever tell anyone that it was in a bigger fermenter than necessary.
Lou is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:41 PM   #4
pompeiisneaks
Why that human mask?
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pompeiisneaks's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 909
Liked 49 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I agree, the co2 creates a buffer space anyway, and if you close off the fermenter, and use a proper fermentation blowoff tube or lock, it won't have any issues at all.
__________________
~Phil
Fermenting/Kegged/Bottled NONE :( I moved to the NW and haven't had time to setup my brew rig since! (but hey, I'm in the Pacific NW so there's so much awesome beer I don't need to brew it as much hah!
pompeiisneaks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can i use a 5 gallon carboy for a 3 gallon batch? brewhymn Mead Forum 6 09-27-2009 09:37 PM
5 gallon batch - ok to secondary in a 6 gallon carboy? Jakobrau Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 10-23-2008 01:23 AM
5 gallon batch + 5 gallon primary fermenter = good noisy123 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 13 07-30-2008 11:45 AM
6.5 gallon carboy 5 gallon batch html034 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 02-12-2008 02:53 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS