Switching power between elements/PIDs possible? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Switching power between elements/PIDs possible?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2009, 03:41 PM   #1
Rhino17
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts



Hi All,

I am in the planning stages of converting my direct fire rig to an electric HERMS. Although I would love to run a 240v element in both my HLT and kettle at the same time, currently it's not an option.

My plan is 4500w 240v in boil kettle and 2500w 240v in HLT. I will heat my strike water in the BK, and then move to the HLT. Both elements will be controlled via PID and 40a SSRs. I would like to have a switch on my control panel that allows me to switch power between the 2 sides of my rig (from HLT to BK). This will allow me to operate on a 30a circuit. Later down the road, when my wiring is upgraded, I would be able to remove the switch, and power both sides at the same time.

Since the amp draw of the 4500w is 19a, could I use a 30a DPDT switch? Is a DPDT the correct way to go, or is there any other way to accomplish this?

Thanks,

Rhino

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 04:29 PM   #2
ClaudiusB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,354
Liked 100 Times on 77 Posts


Quote:
Both elements will be controlled via PID and 40a SSRs. I would like to have a switch on my control panel that allows me to switch power between the 2 sides of my rig (from HLT to BK). This will
The no cost option:
Put one of the temp controllers in the no run mode or off, depending on brand and model.

My edit.
Option two:
Install a 3-position selector switch between the PID out and the SSR.
Position 1, left = PID #1
Position 2, center = Both PID's
Position 3, right = PID #2
No high current selector switch required.



Cheers,
ClaudiusB


 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 04:47 PM   #3
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
conpewter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
East Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 5,109
Liked 53 Times on 48 Posts


My control box has a dryer outlet and each of my elements has a dryer cord attached. When I want to use the HLT (the one that has the temp probe in it) I plug that in. When I'm done heating strike/sparge water I plug in the boil kettle and use the manual control.

I have a 30 amp switch on the box to turn off the current when I switch cords for extra safety.
__________________
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 05:52 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,330
Liked 1765 Times on 1122 Posts


Wait, if you never plan to have both energized at the same time, why would you waste the money on two controllers and SSRs? Operate a 3PDT switch on the elements themselves and the two temp probes. With one throw of the switch, all the associated electrics including the temp probes will be switched from the BK to the HLT.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 06:21 PM   #5
ClaudiusB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,354
Liked 100 Times on 77 Posts


Quote:
Operate a 3PDT switch on the elements themselves and the two temp probes. With one throw of the switch, all the associated electrics including the temp probes will be switched from the BK to the HLT.
If he uses thermocouple probes the switch contacts should be made with thermocouple-grade calibration alloys.



Cheers,
ClaudiusB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 06:34 PM   #6
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,330
Liked 1765 Times on 1122 Posts


Wow, they're really that sensitive huh.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:13 PM   #7
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bull8042's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 10,263
Liked 452 Times on 448 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaudiusB View Post
If he uses thermocouple probes the switch contacts should be made with thermocouple-grade calibration alloys.

Cheers,
ClaudiusB
That is exactly correct.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Wow, they're really that sensitive huh.
Yes, they are. That is why I would shy away from using thermocouples if possible. They can be a real pain in the tush.
__________________
"I brew with a water cooler and some part from the toilet." - JohnnyO

"I do gravity feed the last gallon or two through my Therminator, but I expect you could suck start a Volkswagen before you could suck start one of these. - GilaMinumBeer

"..... Bull was right." - TXCurtis

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:18 PM   #8
Sawdustguy
 
Sawdustguy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,708
Liked 36 Times on 30 Posts


Yup, they are. Thermocouples are comprised of two different materials joined at one end and separated at the other. The separated ends are considered the output, and they generate voltage which is proportional to the heat they are measuring or monitoring. That is, the hotter the temperature, the higher the voltage. The fact that two metals generate voltage is known as the Seebeck effect. The voltage they generate is very small, usually milivolts. If you were to connect the output leads of the thermocouple to a switch, the switch would have to have contacts made of the same material as the thermocouple, otherwise the two dissimilar metals of the switch and the thermocouple leads would make another thermocouple and skew the output of your measurement thermocouple. PID's and thermometer are calibrated for specific thermocouples. If you were to intoduce another thermocouple by intoducing a switch of dissimilar metal the calibration of your PID or thermometer is comprimised. It's readings would not be accurate any longer. However, there is such a thing as a special thermocouple switch but they seem to be costly. I have seen a couple of thermocouple switches on Ebay for under $100 recently.
__________________
Guy


 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:31 PM   #9
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
conpewter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
East Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 5,109
Liked 53 Times on 48 Posts


You don't need a probe in the boil kettle, though I suppose it would be nice. I didn't switch between two thermocouples because I did figure that putting a switch in line would screw up it reading the temp right.
__________________
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:40 PM   #10
LooyvilleLarry
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Louisville,KY
Posts: 965
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


So, Conpewter - You have a single PID+TC in the HLT, controlling a SSR, then when you switch to the boil, you just choose a different SSR (or plug for manual control) and set the PID to manual...?

I think that is doable. I know that the PID has to have the TC to have the circuit complete.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do PIDs work? rocketman768 DIY Projects 6 08-14-2009 02:34 PM
How do PIDs/SSRs work? illin8 Equipment/Sanitation 11 05-08-2009 10:22 PM
Do PIDS need to be temperature calibrated? JVD_X Equipment/Sanitation 4 02-19-2009 03:52 PM
Understanding my PIDs Squeeky Brew Stands 7 06-14-2008 04:58 AM
HERMS with two PIDs Squeeky Equipment/Sanitation 0 05-26-2008 11:06 PM


Forum Jump