Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Sam Adams Longshot Brewing Contest

Old 03-09-2009, 04:37 PM   #1
Hops-a-Lot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Sam Adams Longshot Brewing Contest

Has anyone else seen the latest Sam Adams television campaign? They are actually promoting homebrewing on the mass media. I love it! I guess they have some contest (the Longshot Homebrew contest) they are actually marketing the winners this year. I can't wait to get ahold of them to give them a try. I just thought it was totally cool to see someone have a boilover on national television. Do they have this contest every year? I am sure this is something you all know about already, but being a noob I am still excited by even the smallest discovery.

Old 03-09-2009, 04:40 PM   #2
Joos
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 7 Posts

I'm pretty sure it's every year.And +1 on the boil over.She ran away!! hilarious.

Old 03-09-2009, 04:41 PM   #3
Forbein11
Recipes 

They did one last year. Winner's beer was sold at Gillette Stadium during the Pats season.

Old 03-09-2009, 05:05 PM   #4
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Sweet I am definitely going to enter this one, just need to get a couple brews finished up. I don't like that it is one entry per category, I figured one entry per sub-category would be better. (Means I can't enter my Robin Goblin ale and my Mild Life)

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

Old 03-09-2009, 05:06 PM   #5
carnevoodoo
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

They've been doing this for at least a few years now. Was 2006 the first one?

Anyhow, thousands of people enter. It is pretty nuts.

Old 03-09-2009, 05:41 PM   #6
jonp9576
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

wow. i'm goin for it