Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long should I let my stout go for (in primary and secondary)??

Old 03-03-2009, 08:53 PM   #1
Pisty_Pete
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How long should I let my stout go for (in primary and secondary)??

Hi All,

I'm a noob and just brewed my first partial mash, which is a 34 IBU oatmeal stout with 1 cup of jaggery palm sugar as an adjunct. The OG was 1.055 and I was wondering how long one might recommend leaving it in primary (and in secondary) to get the best results?

Thanks!
p

Old 03-03-2009, 08:58 PM   #2
culaslucas
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 9

A lot of folks (myself included) use the 1-2-3 rule for most beers.

1 week primary
2 week secondary
3 week bottle

others do 3 primary & 3 week bottle.
This reduces risk of contamination when transferring to 2ndary & probably removes more diacetyl from your beer as it's on the yeast longer.

Either way is just fine IMHO.

Old 03-03-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2888 Times on 1702 Posts
Likes Given: 3520

You will find that many, many of us leave our beers a minimum of 3-4 weeks in primary, then bottle, skipping secondary all together....We have found that the extra time in contact with the yeast improves clarity, and taste, by allowing the yeast to clean up the byproducts of fermentation.

After the first few batches very few of us adhere to the 1-2-3 rule...Because we have found much improvement in our beer by not following that methodolgy.

A stout will only improve with time...

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew