Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > What is the best mini fridge for a fermentation chamber?

Old 02-25-2009, 08:13 PM   #1
Schnitzengiggle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default What is the best mini fridge for a fermentation chamber?

Right now I only need a fermentation chamber that will fit one bucket, I can expand it later if necessary,however, I am looking into a mini fridge w/temp controller. I live in Arizona and it is February, yesterdays temp was 89 degrees! my house has been in the upper 70's and I need a way to keep things cool. I am a noob to this and have just bottled my first brews almost a week ago (keeping those in my ice chest with a bottle of frozen water to keep em around 68-70 while they condition, while keeping a close eye on the temps in the coolers) Can anyone give me any suggestions on small/mini fridges that will work for this application? My home is small so space is an issue.

Old 02-26-2009, 02:53 AM   #2
kidoduck
Recipes 

There are a few threads on this. I have heard Sanyo 4912 mentioned a lot. I have a Frigidaire 445 that barely holds a 6 gallon carboy. I mentioned this to someone in a post not too long ago, so like I said, do a search. you should find quite few threads on this question.

Old 02-26-2009, 03:58 AM   #3
Anthony_Lopez
Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I believe Best Buy carries a 5.0 cu ft fridge that is close to what the Sanyo 4912 offered. The Sanyo has been discontinued for a while now...

You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer.
--Frank Zappa

My Cheap and Easy Stirplate

Old 02-26-2009, 04:01 AM   #4
Duckfoot
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Scour Craigslist for a cheap one... Heck, I found mine on a loading dock while I was at work and snagged it for free....