Running coaxial cable question - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Running coaxial cable question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2009, 01:20 AM   #1
BuffaloSabresBrewer
 
BuffaloSabresBrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
Posts: 2,218
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts



Im thinking about running cable to anther room, second story, for the new cable wireless router. My parents house has a phone line that runs upstairs that goes through a heater duct. Its away from the furnace so it doesn't burn or anything. Would be running a coaxial cable up a duct to the share room upstairs be a bad idea if it was a safe distance away from the furnace?
__________________
Quote:
DeathBrewer:
maybe i'll post an ad:

Single male seeks double-jointed supermodel who owns a brewery and grows her own pot. Access to free concert tickets a plus!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:25 AM   #2
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Bernie Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
Eldorado, WI
Posts: 7,507
Liked 148 Times on 59 Posts


Are there no other wall cavities you could utilize???
__________________
I like to squeeze the nickle until the buffalo craps-mt rob

"Why don't we get drunk and screw?" Jimmy Buffett

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:25 AM   #3
eriktlupus
 
eriktlupus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Cereal City, USA
Posts: 2,618
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts


run it thru the same area but out side the duct if possible.

personal preference
__________________
primary1 :UTOPIA BABY(still searching for it)
secondary:middling bastard ipa
kegged:simcoe blonde, crystal pale ale, yellow jacket golden ale, lemon shandy blonde
DRINKIN DAWG BREWERY
LET'S GO RED WINGS


join michigan mashers here

extraction calculator
grains in pounds(G) X 36(average points per gallon of grains) / batch size in gallons(g) = maximum efficiency(ME)
OG / ME = brewhouse efficiency

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:27 AM   #4
Jared311
 
Jared311's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Columbia, MD
Posts: 500
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


yeah, I would avoid the duct myself. Heat = electrical noise due to the random collisions of electrons.
__________________
Sláinte,
Jared311

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:35 AM   #5
BuffaloSabresBrewer
 
BuffaloSabresBrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
Posts: 2,218
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by eriktlupus View Post
run it thru the same area but out side the duct if possible.

personal preference
Thats what I was going to do until I found the area around the duct had be sealed with a bit of over zealous GreatStuff.
__________________
Quote:
DeathBrewer:
maybe i'll post an ad:

Single male seeks double-jointed supermodel who owns a brewery and grows her own pot. Access to free concert tickets a plus!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:20 AM   #6
Ceedubya
 
Ceedubya's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Helena, MT
Posts: 1,460
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts


buy plenum rated cable and it should be fine. Its more expensive but will avoid any heat, fire, etc issues.
__________________
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here! - The Dude

I don't understand the purpose of the line, "I don't need to drink to
have fun." Great, no one does. But why start a fire with flint and
sticks when they've invented the lighter?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:09 PM   #7
david_42
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,597
Liked 155 Times on 145 Posts


Ceedubya has the right idea. I worked for a cable company back in the '80s and using the plenum cable in the ducting made many a job easier.
__________________
Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 06:32 PM   #8
Ceedubya
 
Ceedubya's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Helena, MT
Posts: 1,460
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts


I'm not sure where you can get plenum cable though, I doubt home depot, radio shack, etc has it. But it wouldn't hurt to check.

If I have some on hand, I might be able to spare a bit and send it to you. How much will you need? I will check around and see if I have any leftover on a spool somewhere.
__________________
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here! - The Dude

I don't understand the purpose of the line, "I don't need to drink to
have fun." Great, no one does. But why start a fire with flint and
sticks when they've invented the lighter?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:09 PM   #9
mania83
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Haverhill MA
Posts: 18

I would check an electrical supply house, they would have it there.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 12:21 AM   #10
sause
Steel Comma Ale & Lagery
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
sause's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2004
Menomonee Falls WI
Posts: 1,866
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts


Run it through the cold air return. No worries about heat and sealing it back up "airtight".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange Brewer
Had some Bud Light analyzed once. They told me my dog had diabetes... And was pregnant

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Lengths BuckyBrewing Brew Stands 11 10-02-2009 02:27 PM
cable diameter? left field brewer Hops Growing 1 04-25-2009 02:16 AM
Question for those running pumps. FSR402 Equipment/Sanitation 10 09-23-2008 03:47 PM
Cable tv on a PC mresa641 General Chit Chat 16 08-16-2008 01:46 AM
Cable TV Fish General Chit Chat 10 02-05-2008 08:18 PM


Forum Jump