Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Yet Another RIMS Build
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2009, 08:30 PM   #1
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Yet Another RIMS Build

Got most of the parts for my RIMS build today:. Going to run a 240V 4500 ULD heater element at 120V.

Electronics from auberins.com, Temperature control solutions for home and industry

2" RTD, 25A SSR and heatsink, PID:



1.5" Stainless stuff from Stainless Steel Fittings




bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:38 PM   #2
hopsalot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Corpus, Texas
Posts: 1,574
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

how much more equipment/hardware do you need to get er' going?


__________________
In Illa Brettanomyces Nos Fides

http://bjsbrewery.blogspot.com/
hopsalot is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:50 PM   #3
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopsalot View Post
how much more equipment/hardware do you need to get er' going?
I have all the switches and wire. Just didn't post pics. I can if/when my gallery software starts working correctly again. I also need to buy the element, Lowe's didn't have one.

I already have the pumps, etc. on my existing rig. I need to create a return manifold and that's it - I'll probably do it out of cpvc for now.
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 06:40 PM   #4
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I decided to redo the electrical internals of my "control panel" so I didn't have much progress, here's some newer pics:

Completed tube with element. I should have used smaller nipples, but I'm hoping the extra length won't hurt anything:


Distribution block, ground bar, and SSR's:



Rat's nest of wiring:



I've mounted one PID and got all the switches and receptacle hooked up. If I can get another couple of hours straight to work on it, I'll be done. for now...
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 06:42 PM   #5
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

note on the pics: the covers broke off of my SSR's long ago (cheapo plastic) but the strips of tape hold them on nicely - been that way for months.
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 06:43 PM   #6
polecreek
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: montrose co
Posts: 366
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Why 3 SSRs?
polecreek is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:25 PM   #7
nathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 958
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

with your QDs oriented in that way, it appears as though you will have a drainout of fluid if you disconnect for any reason. How do you plan to run this and will you switch your hoses around ever to use this heater unit for other things?
__________________
______________________________________
beer.
nathan is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:27 PM   #8
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polecreek View Post
Why 3 SSRs?
HLT, BK, and RIMS all have elements
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:28 PM   #9
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan View Post
How do you plan to run this and will you switch your hoses around ever to use this heater unit for other things?
Not gonna have to move hoses. I have multiple inputs for my pump and multiple outputs for my MLT, so I shouldn't have to move any hoses, just turn on/off valves.
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 10:01 PM   #10
polecreek
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: montrose co
Posts: 366
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Just out of curiosity how long would it take to bring the BK to a boil say 12 gal. I assume the BK element is 240v?


polecreek is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RIMS Build Sizz Brew Stands 193 06-16-2012 04:37 AM
RIMS Build Update (lots of pics) Sawdustguy Brew Stands 11 02-08-2012 04:33 PM
Brew Stand - Build yourself or get someone else to build? Stevorino Equipment/Sanitation 36 12-23-2009 05:53 PM
Working on my RIMS build ILOVEBEER Equipment/Sanitation 11 09-21-2009 05:02 PM
RIMS set up! slnies Brew Stands 75 04-30-2009 12:10 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS