I'm a noob, but this mistake just pisses me off! - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling > I'm a noob, but this mistake just pisses me off!

Old 01-30-2009, 03:19 AM   #1
NewBrew75
Recipes 

Dec 2008
Kansas City, MO
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I've brewed about ten or twelve batches now, so I thought I've learned enough to try out a new beer. Because of the cost and long brew to drink time, I wanted to make sure that everything went perfectly during this brew day. Today I made a Rochefort 10 clone that I invested the last three weeks on the recipe. Recently I bought one of those tea steeping balls to use for hops. (Im betting seasoned brewers already know this outcome) I packed the ball with two ounces of bittering pellet hops, then thew it in at the start of the boil. Everything went fine for the rest of the day, until the end, when I opened the damn steeping ball! I had a brick of f**king hops that never saw boiling wort at all! C'MON!!!! It looked like the s**tty ass weed I smoked in high school. (for the record I don't smoke now) I know I'm smart enough to know that was a stupid decision, I've seen how pellet hops expand when you throw them in hot wort. But why the hell did I have to miss this detail?? According to Beersmith, this cut my IBU in about half. Im crossing my fingers, but I don't have much hope. I think I might sit on this beer for the next six months only to be disappointed. Guess I'll start another. Don't do the same stupid s**t I did.

Old 01-30-2009, 03:24 AM   #2
McKBrew

Recipes 

Oct 2006
Hayden, Idaho
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts

Positive way to look at it. It'll still be beer and it'll still be good, but different. You might look into some of those unique hopping techniques like boiling hops in water or using a french press to extract some more bitterness and aroma and add that mix into the fermenter, or just enjoy it the way it is.