Does my efficieny suck? ..... or have i been short changing myself?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamuraiSquirrel

Reaction score
I started brewing over six months ago now. I have done 6 or 7 all-grain brews. They have all turned out great. My efficiency has consistently been between 70-75% batch sparging in a ten gallon cooler with a copper manifold.

I've read through countless hundred page threads about batch vs. fly sparging. People using both methods claiming to get 80-87% with the occasional person claiming that they got 93%.

So I thought to myself "wow, does my process really suck that much that others are getting over 15% more efficiency points than me?"

It's not that 70% is unacceptable by any means. I know the amount of grain used to compensate is pretty marginal. However, since it is a hobby, reading about this stuff just interests me and I enjoy trying to refine and perfect my process as much as possible.

Then while doing my last batch I had a thought. I have been calculating "brewhouse efficiency" for all my past batches since this seems to be most useful in allowing you to plan for recipes to get the volume and gravity needed while accounting for trub loss. Suprisingly, my most recent batch was spot on my usual 70%

This past batch was an ipa and had about a gallon of trub due to the large volume of hops used in the recipe. So out of curiousity I calculated my "mash efficiency" or "extraction efficiency" (for some reason i had never calculated this before) using preboil gravity and volume and to my surprise it was 86%! Maybe my efficiency doesn't suck after all? or does it?