Acetobacter Infection?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to home brewing and for an initial batch I decided to go with a standard no-nonsense pale ale.

Everything was going great; primary fermentation took off in about 6-12 hours and kept bubbling away for another 3+ days after which the beer steadily cleared and smelled great.

I decided to keep the beer in the fermenter for 2wks and then bottle directly, but I extracted a small sample with a turkey baster a couple of days ago and last night when I went to bottle the beer the entire thing had gone cloudy and from a deep, clear amber to a milky, yellowish brown. The smell & flavor had changed signifigantly as well. I am pretty sure some of what I was detecting was acetic acid.

I am assuming that I must have improperly sanitized the turkey baster and introduced some sort of infection (acetobacter perhaps?)

Any ideas on what this may have been, or some helpful tricks for the sanitation process?

Thanks

That sucks about the possible infection. Many people on the board will tell you to ride it out, forget about it for a week, 2, 4 and try again. Do not be quick to dump a batch, as time has a way of mellowing things out. Let it ride for a bit, and see if things improve.

As far as the turkey baster, how did you sanitize it? A lot of people here prefer a sanitizer called Starsan. I have used it successfully for 15 batches and not had any problem with infection.

A lot of kits come with "one step" which is a cleaner, not a sanitizer.

Also look into getting a wine thief to take samples, and never dump the samples back into the fermenter. They are to drink :)