BIAB & Boil Pot size

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shoreman

Reaction score
Hey Everyone - first post - been checking out these forums after getting back into brewing.

I've been brewing for about 10 years or so on and off - kits, extract, all grain. I sold all of my stuff at one point b/c I had a small apartment.

Right now I've been doing partial mashing in the 1.035-1.055 range and have been happy with the results - generally I only need about 3lbs of DME - and everything is on the stove.

I have a 5 gallon pot, and a 2 gallon pot - it works.

I've been reading alot about BIAB and was wondering about pulling off a 5 gallon batch in the 5 gallon pot. I don't want to buy any more gear as it is.

I will do high gravity or partial boil brewing similar to Guiness or Bud (even when I was all grain I did) and find the beer just as good if not better (better clarity) - just bump the hops up a bit.

So do you think I could do the mash of say 9lbs of grain BIAB in my 5 gallon pot - mash thick, then maybe pour some water over the bag (after its pulled out) to do a somewhat sparge? Get the 3.5 gallons I need - then cut it with water as usual after the boil?

Would that mash be too thick?

Thanks in advance.

My math says you need about 11.25qt of mash water, just under 3 gallons. My thought was to pull the bag up near the top some after mash, then slowly add another gallon to the top, let it settle out for 10 minutes.

You'd be boiling just under 4 gallons, probably doable if you're careful.