Mead rookie questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FL_Javelin

Reaction score
Hello all, new to forums, glad I found them.

I have been brewing beer for about 15 years, 1-2 batches a year so not very often but I have done it enough to understand the procces. I have been interested in mead lately and want to try my hand at brewing some.

First my questions;

Can I use a plastic carbouy for fermentation?

I dont own carbouys, I use plastic buckets for my beer. If needed I will get glass carbouys but I have access to plastic ones, thats why I was asking.

Will mead tie up my beer making plastic buckets for a long time?

I suspect the answer may be yes from my research. I want to brew another beer batch soon so I dont want to tie up my ferminter too long. Guess I may need 2 carbouys.

Is this a good first time mead kit?
http://www.williamsbrewing.com/WILLIAM_S_MEAD_KIT_P290.cfm?UserID=1487028&jsessionid=3030e05e1c22$5C$8A$1

I have been using Williams brewing for years for my beer and I love thier kits so I thought I would try thier mead.

Being in Florida I will use orange blossum honey from local supplier.

I have never even tasted any mead but based on my tastes in wine, I would probably enjoy something in between dry and sweet.

Thanks so much for your time.

I suggest using glass. Mead will have to sit around for many months, which will tie up your buckets. Buckets can permeate air as well, glass does not. If you go with gallon sized batches you can get them from the recycling center or get cheap 1gal size jugs of wine (what I did). A #6 stopper fits them.