step mash vs. infusion???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thenatibrewer

Reaction score
i was wondering if some of you "advanced" brewers could offer your opinion on step vs. infusion mashing. i am fairly new to AG and i try to read as much as i can about it. in the back of the book The Joy of Homebrewing are some recipes. everyone of them says to step mash??? is this necessary? are the real benefits to doing this process? the bottom line is will it make a
"better" beer? cannot wait to hear your thoughts.

For what it's worth, I get much better efficiency from step mashes (80% as opposed to 70%). I think the protein rest helps to solubilize the enzymes, and the constant stirring up to the saccharification rest and then up to the mash out temp really help. That said, the multi step infusion mashes aren't strictly required for most commercial malts. If you're using a significant portion of adjuncts (corn, rice, wheat), then your beer will benefit from a protein rest, but again, it's not strictly required. I hope that helps....

Can’t a infusion mash be a step mash by "infusing" close to boiling water to increase the mash temperature for each step?

I thought a step mash simply meant more than one temperature rest. A step mash could be infusion, direct fire, or decoction. I haven't found a protein rest increases efficiency any noticeable amount but it does seem to help with chill haze and contrary to what I've read it doesn't seem to hurt head retention. If you really want to experiment there are multiple protease enzymes just like alpha and beta amylase enzymes each having a different effect on the mash, I think John Palmer's site / book has good info on this.