Brewing with propane inside the garage

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Baunno

Reaction score
This past spring I started brewing with a propane burner. Its cold outside (though nothing like further North) and It'll take forever to boil with the temps the way they are. Soooo, I have seen a lot of home brewer’s pics boiling it up in their garages but always with the doors open. I can't do that because it will chill the rest of the house down so what about brewing with the doors closed?
I have an RV and know about using gas stoves inside and the venting required. Is this stupid, dangerous or what? I know, probably a really dumb question but all opinions invited.

Thanx

I usually brew in my garage with the door open all the way (2-car, 1 big door). But when it is really cold outside, like under 40°F (I love the south :D)
I open the door a foot or two. I haven't had any problems thus far and really don't expect any. Safety is #1.

Last brewday high was 17F. Kept double wide garage door open about 8 - 18 inches. Kids kept going in and out, froze me tush they did!

Be aware of ventilation and you should be fine.

I would recommend a cheap CO monitor if you plan on brewing without the door all the way open. I picked up a plug-in one for $20 on Amazon. Hopefully I will never have needed it, but 20 bucks for peace of mind suits me...

I would recommend a cheap CO monitor if you plan on brewing without the door all the way open. I picked up a plug-in one for $20 on Amazon. Hopefully I will never have needed it, but 20 bucks for peace of mind suits me...

The CO monitor is a great idea...I have one in the kitchen that I'll move to the garage brewing day and keep the door open a foot or two.
Thanks!