Harvesting yeast in sterile urine sample containers? (no, really!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LowerMillHillBackyardBrew

Reaction score
Hi brewers & brewettes! So, I'm trying to add yeast washing/reusing/parenting to my brew craft repertoire. I'm a newbie, but like many I'm very fascinated by the little yeasties + they're quite expensive here in Norway (like, $8 for a pack of Nottingham, $10-15 for liquid), so in the long run I could save some money by reusing and growing these tiny wonders of nature. Also, it makes me feel kinda mad scientist-y :D

So I've been reading up on yeast washing etc., and managed to wash the yeast from my latest brew, so now I have a jar in my fridge with approx. 50 ml of yeast (about 5 mm tall cake). I'm planning to use this for my next brew, but I'd also like to keep at least a small amount for later brews in the immediate future (read: january/february), if possible.

And now the real question: I work at the local hospital, and thus I can get small amounts of various stuff for free, amongst those are containers and tubes normally used for urine samples. I got an idea: use these for yeast collecting somehow!

I have these containers:
3-urine-collection.jpg

These are sterile, wrapped in plastic, etc. 100 ml.
They also have a "Integrated Transfer Device" (the yellow tube sticking down into it), which is basically a needle connected to a tube (needle is covered and sterile until you use it), so I can use smaller sample tubes, similar to these:
1-collection-tubes.jpg

These are "filled" with vacuum, so by punching it into the "Integrated Transfer Device", whatever is in the container will be sucked into the sample tube, and voila! I have a 9 ml tube full of (mostly) yeast and nothing else!