Few Common Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thatsme

Reaction score
Hi, I am a novice in home brewing and wanted to clear few doubts before starting any thing, please help me:

- What are campden alternatives? (sod. or pot. metabisulfite or any other)
- What will happen if we do not add hops to the wort?
- What if we use bakers yeast in wine & beer instead of specific yeasts?
- What ABV in beer we can achieve through bakers yeast?
- Can we use "bleaching power" or "fabric bleach" as sanitizer?
- What will happen if beer is fermented at 25 - 30 deg celcius?

Hopfully these question can help other peoples starting for home brewing, so please provide your valuable inputs.

I suggest to copy qustions and answer below them, when replying.

Thanks in advance!

I'm guessing you're doing cider? if not, campden tablets are really not needed.

if you do not add hops to wort you won't have beer. you'll have some fermented malt that will be very very sweet and unbalanced

no idea about any of the bakers yeast question

as far as beer fermented that high, it will have some very very interesting tastes. lots of off flavors are produced in temperature that high (assuming the yeast don't die)

You don't need campden in beer unless you are trying to get rid of chloramine. I don't make wine, so I'm not sure of the specifics of different kinds.

- What will happen if we do not add hops to the wort?
Even before the common use of hops in beer, people used different spices and plants to bitter beer. Beer just doesn't turn out right without something to balance the malty sweetness.

You won't make a good product. Brewers yeast is made to make beer, wine what have you. Bakers yeast will poop out early and have trouble clearing.