strange wierd chunks in my beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopsoda

Reaction score
Im new to Brewing i made a AG beer "trying to make somthing moon like"
when i opened my primary there were strange yeast colored chunks that look like "half shells" sort of? they were somewhat hard yet mushy at the same time. in the bottom of the fermenter ,and the beer smells some what sour? not a bad smell ... but not a good smell neither ... it tasts some what sour also... agean not real sour ... but not great tasting neither.

all seemed smooth?
have i got a infected batch? ... what are the chunks and the sour smell 'tast from? ... if it is infected ... with what ... and what are the chunks? has anyone seen what i am looking at?

here is what i used its a 5 gal batch all grain
---Aprox-----
8lb american 2 row
3 lb flaked wheat
1 lb flaked oat
.5 oz corriander
.5 oz fresh orange peel
1 oz cascade pellets
Wyeast Liquid Yeast - Belgian Wit 3944

(any suggestions)? ... please!!!!

Break material can look like small flakes in the wort, they're perfectly normal if that's what you're seeing.

I wouldn't judge the taste until it's been at least 6 weeks from brew day and carbonated.

Lol... last thing I would want to do is stick my head in the air above the krausen. That **** will make you grow chest hair!

Yeah, I'm with shonuff, you're fine. Don't worry the beer!! It is said by men (either wiser, or crazier -or both- than I) that yeast don't like being stared at, nor do they like people looking over their shoulders while they work.
Relax, have a pint (or two) of something previously fermented, and let them go about their business.