Which Water Filter to get?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjlammer

Reaction score
I am currently using my tap water to brew with, and i want to get a water filter to take the chlorine out of the water.

I would like to keep using my water, as it is overall, very good water (Im a water engineer, so i try to keep support my people... know what i mean).

Anyone know where to get a cheap carbon filter? I was thinking about a shower head filter so i can just screw it on and off.

What do you guys think?

I've been using the whole-house filter made by the Omni Corporation. They're effective and reasonably priced, and the filters (in a variety of applications, including carbon for your chlorine) are widely available, or just order them from their web site. About 6 months ago, I helped my son install the Omni whole house unit for a carbon filter, since they had the worst chlorine in their water supply I'd ever tasted. Worked like a charm.

I use a blue RV filter. It screws right to my rig and white RV hose. Woks great and they are cheap and I can get them at many different local places.

ebay. search for Ro/di filter. any of the units that use 10" filters will work. get one with clear filter housings, so you can see when to change the carts.

I get 0 TDS water from mine. Absolutely clean H2O. But I use it for my fish tank, not brewing.

You could go the cheap route and build one from parts from HD/Lowes. Go to the water filter section and piece together a couple of housings, then get one prefilter (1micron) and a carbon block. It will probably cost about $60-75. You can get a cheap 3-stage RO/DI from ebay for $100.

B