Thinking about going all-grain? DO IT!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Looper

Reaction score
I started brewing in May, 2011. I dove in headfirst. I got a 7.5g stainless steel pot with propane burner in order to do full-boils, made a 50ft copper immersion wort chiller, and everything else needed to make the best possible extract brews.

But, they were still extract brews.

I made 6 extract brewkits from Northern Brewer. I'm not trying to bash NB at all, I genuinely feel like they produce some very quality LME and DMEs. No matter how quality an extract is, it has still been sitting on a shelf somewhere for who knows how long...

I made the switch to all-grain about 6 weeks ago, and WOW! What a difference. I constructed a MLT out of a round 5 gal cooler from Lowe's for about $60 (including the copper manifold).

I made Biermuncher's OktoberfAst ale, and finally tried it tonight. Absolutely phenomenal. :ban:

There is no extract twang or weird aftertastes WHATSOEVER.

Since switching to AG, I've made a Pumpkin Spiced Ale, and an Oatmeal Stout. Can't wait to keep producing FAR superior brews! I'm trying to get all my friends to drink my extract brews that I have in bottles just to free up space for the AGs...

I wish I could go back in time and switch to AG sooner! By far the best improvement I've made in my brewing process..

So, for all you extract brewers out there, MAKE THE JUMP! As long as you have the process down with extracts, there is absolutely no reason not to go AG..

:rockin:

Agreed. IMO its what really got me hooked on beer making. Doing extract is fine, and since the market for it keeps us AG'ers alive i wont knock it, but there is no depth to it. No pinpointing certain tastes or body characteristics. AG all the way baby!