Super High Gravity Apfelwein (what did i get myself into?)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
im a pretty novice brewer, and I am starting to feel that I have made a rather large mistake in my attemp to make an apfelwein.
so I started with 64 oz of all natural 100% apple juice,
then added the pulp and juice from 7 red delicious apples (put through the juicer)
then I added 32 oz water
then i started to add sugar.
let me preface this by saying that im using "pastuer champagne yeast" and from lurking around Ive read that champagne yeast is good to about 18%abv
so I thought to myself hey 18%abv would sound about good, so I started adding sugar
and adding sugar
Im not sure exactly how much but the Gravity ended up at 1.135ish.
so from the tables it looks like im good for 17 and a bit percent, right?
reading now about the apfelweins on here the abvs seem waay lower, so what have I gotten myself into?
how long is this gonna take to ferment?
is it gonna go all the way to 17%?
is it gonna taste horribble?
should I throw it out?

well you already spent all the money so go ahead and ferment it.

its likely to taste VERY VERY dry and thin...all that sugar ferments 100% leaving you with no body or sweetness. and too much straight sugar will lend a funky 'cidery' taste to whatever you make (cider, beer, wine, etc).

nothing wrong with experimenting, but it does kind of need to be done with some foresight and planning...or you might just be wasting ingredients.

i suspect your apple wine will take a year or more to age and mellow out. even then it might taste terrible.

thanks guy,
Im gonna let this one set for a while and start another following the recipe more closely, watery and thin is not really what I want